We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy returns”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harvest, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Many happy returns”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently completed our 5th stay at the Steamboat Inn in Mystic. Each time is pleasure, and each time we seem to enjoy the Inn and the town more and more. Having stayed that many times now, we have become very familiar with many of the rooms, and from our experience there isn't a bad place in the whole building! It's an endearing and comfortable place, and now when we arrive at the Steamboat Inn, we feel like we've just come home. We always try to time our trip with Columbus Day weekend, when there's much to do and see around the area.

The Inn itself is located right on the Mystic River at the foot of the bridge, which means you get to see a lot of boat traffic and witness the raising and lowering of one of the most picturesque bridges in New England. There's an immense charm to the town, and there's an enormous history awaiting you along the Connecticut coast. A walk down the boardwalk is an inviting and relaxing experience!

The Inn couldn't be in a better location! All the shops and great restaurants are within a 3 block radius, an easy stroll from The Steamboat Inn. Shopping from store to store and browsing the art galleries and unique businesses in the area are worth the visit. But if you're looking for something more on the intellectual side of things, a visit to the Mystic Seaport is a must! Especially during Chowderfest! You can also make a day of visiting the shops in Old Mystic Village and visiting the aquarium.

Plan to visit Mystic-- and plan to stay at The Steamboat Inn. It'll be an experience you'll want to repeat again and again, as we have!

Scott and Holly Bemish
Harvest, AL

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SABemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    107
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
424
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is perfect for a visit to Mystic. It is centrally located and within walking distance of everything. We parked our car and didn't move it the entire time we were there. Our room was spacious and clean, very cozy and comfortable, and the perfect getaway for leaving the kids with the grandparents. The jacuzzi was perfect, as was the fireplace. We were in the Ariadne room, with excellent views of the river, but we could hear a lot of conversation from passersby on the wharf. We didn't really like the restaurant recommendations, so had to do this separately... And perhaps our only complaint is that the "hot" breakfast is a buffet... We are used to a served breakfast at "bed and breakfasts"... Otherwise the food was plentiful and fine. We would recommend this to anyone going to the area!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a second floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KABLOCK, General Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your compliments! It is always nice to hear from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Once again we relied on the Trip Advisor reviews for a place to stay while we were in Mystic, CT. The Steamboat Inn is right in the middle of town located on the Mystic River. I liked the fact that the Inn wasn’t on the main street. The Inn is adjacent to the public parking area. You will receive a pass for the free parking once you check in. Kate checked us in and showed us the room we had reserved. We stayed in the Mystic Room #2. The cost per night was $275.00 per night (weekend). When we made our reservations in March the tax was 12%. As of July 1 the tax increased to 15%. So there was an additional $16.50 charge added on to our bill even though we booked the room before July. We chose this room for the panoramic views. The room was very clean except for some water stains on one of the curtains. It looked like a window was left opened during a rainstorm. The sitting area was especially nice in the morning. Each morning my husband would go to the common room and bring back hot mugs of fresh coffee. The coffee is available at 7:00am and breakfast starts at 8:30. During the day you will hear the whistle blowing when the famous Mystic Drawbridge goes up and down. This drawbridge connects the towns of Groton and Stonington. In the evening it was extremely quiet inside and outside of the Inn.
The Inn provides a Mystic DVD. I highly recommend taking the time to watch it especially if it’s your first visit. The location was perfect for walking to the stores, restaurants and St. Patrick’s Church without having to drive. There is a self guided walking tour of Gravel Street. The maps are in the lobby. The distinctive homes were mostly owned by Captains and other prominent residence in the town. Throughout the day we enjoyed watching the boats cruise by our windows as they approached the drawbridge. Along the opposite side of the river on the Stonington side you can watch the fishermen try their best to catch a striped bass or blue fish.
Check out the Mystic Market East. They have homemade food items, meats, sandwiches, bakery, gelato and a gelato cake and much, much more.
For dinner one night we went to AJ’s Bistro. My husband and I decided to order the Osso Buco, asparagus and mashed potatoes. We both ordered a glass of Chianti, one of their house wines. The meal was tasty and filling. The next day my husband went to Bartleby’s Café. He ordered a Reuben sandwich. He loved it!
Would we go back to the Steamboat Inn? Absolutely! We wouldn’t hesitate!

Room Tip: "Second floor rooms have more privacy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland. UK
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have just spent 2 nights at The Steamboat Inn in The Valliant II room. Views were excellant, room extremely comfortable, ground floor, entrance from the wharf.
Problem is wharf is open to the public so people continually walking past window so you really have to keep the blinds closed.
Also right next to this room door is the back entrance for an apartment block, with a metal staircase and door, which is used frequently and your whole room shakes with the vibrations when the door is left to swing closed. We did mention this at checkout and Kate said she thought it was cusioned so she would have a look at this, otherwise this is a lovely place to stay.
The bridge noise was not an issue for us.
Breakfast ok, we did feel this was more a small hotel than an Inn as it didnt quite have the personal touch that we have experinced at the previous 2 inns that we had stayed at on this
trip.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor room, more privacy away from the wharf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I did a LOT of research to book a two night stay for my husband and I on a trip to the east coast. Thanks to other Trip Advisor members/reviews, we were not disappointed! We only got to stay one night at the inn because Hurricane Irene cut off power for several days including Wednesday night of our Thursday night stay. The staff was amazing in contacting us in advance, keeping us updated on the power situation, and being both flexible with our reservation and offering to put us up in their sister hotel (The Whaler's Inn) when their power came back on. Luckily, power came back on on Thursday and we got to stay at the Steamboat. We were originally booked for the Marie Gilbert, but the staff let us look at all the rooms and let us upgrade to the Caroline room for no extra charge. All the rooms were beautiful. We would have been very happy in the cozy Marie Gilbert, but loved the huge bathroom which had a double jacuzzi tub in the Caroline. Almost all the staff members were warm, welcoming, and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and the location is excellent. I can't wait to stay here again!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have access to the dock and you do not have to go inside the inn to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbabugmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in the Harmony room. It was very spacious, nicely furnished with a super comfortable king bed, and had a large bath area with a whirlpool bath. It was nice and quiet with a private entrance off to the side of the inn. It did not have a view of the water, but we liked it because the room was tucked away in a quiet corner. Breakfast was included in the room rate. Nothing outstanding, but it was convenient to have coffee, juice and some cereal before heading out. There were also bagels, muffins and bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs (in the warmer).

The best part of staying at Steamboat Inn is its great location right in the heart of town. Walk to restaurants and shops, a 5 minute drive to the Mystic Seaport and a 10 minute drive to the Mystic Aquarium. Discounted tickets to Seaport and Aquarium are available at the front desk – so much more convenient than getting them at the gate. Innkeepers are also very helpful in telling you about the attractions and helping with reservations for dinner.

Nice inn. We would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tribecamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our stay at The Steamboat Inn totally lived up to our expectations. Check-in was very friendly and helpful with free parking right outside despite being right in the centre of town. The room (ours was the Marie Gilbert) overlooked the river with a perfect view of the famous bascule bridge; it has a steam whistle to announce it's raising every 40 minutes or so which never failed to make me jump but the whistle does keep sociable hours not going off too late or early! The room was spotlessly clean and very homely with a comfortable couch, fireplace, four-poster bed and whirlpool tub, but each room in the Inn is slightly different despite sharing the lovely views. Breakfast was a social affair and we had the chance to chat to other guests over a generous selection of pastries, fruits and cereals. It ideally placed to explore downtown Mystic and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and attractions. I'm very glad we stayed here and hope to return some day!

Room Tip: Each room is different at the Steamboat so check the descriptions before you book; all have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing