We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vistas, Comfort, and Convenience”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2007

My spouse and I stayed for three nights and tried out three rooms (our choice). The location is ideal for the surrounding shopping, dining, museums, and water attractions (the draw bridge right outside the back door was intriguing).

Two of the three rooms exceeded my expectations, with fantastic views of the river, cozy yet well laid out rooms, and clean quarters. Of these two, we most enjoyed the Annie Wilcox room, followed by the Summer Girl room. And don't let the names throw you. They are names of boats that have docked at the Steamboat Inn.

The third room (Valiant), which was significantly smaller with fewer amenities than the other two (no tub, no fireplace), was priced as high as the better rooms. The jetted shower was awkward and leaked through the door. This room needs to be improved or priced appropriately.

The staff was quite accommodating and responsive to our requests. The dining area is clean and comfortable, with tasty continental breakfast pastries and drinks. It is open 24-7 with drinks and cookies.

If you plan a trip to Connecticut or Rhode Island, and want some quiet, comfortable time with your significant other in a beautiful location, I highly recommend the Steamboat Inn in Mystic.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reviews_r_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 611 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2007

We recently stayed at the Steamboat Inn for a long weekend and I can't believe how wonderful it was. The location is perfect...located right downtown near all the shops and restaurants and it is the only property right on the water. The views were so pretty. We stayed in Room #7 and Room #2 (Room #7 wasn't available for our 3rd night there). Room#7 was huge. If you want a lot of space, I would definitely recommend this room. Room#2 was smaller than Room#7, but was my favorite of the 2 because of the decor and views (It is on the 2nd Floor). We originally had reservations at another property in Mystic, but after reading reviews about this place, we made reservations here and I'm so happy we did. The staff here was really courteous and polite and made us feel at home. We were concerned about the noise from the drawbridge, which is right around the corner, but we didn't notice it after the first time. Also, the coffee in the morning in the common room is really good :)
I would definitely recommend staying at the Steamboat Inn and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBeans36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed 2 nights in the Mystic room and as previously mentioned this room has the best views in the Inn, with two windows, one looking right down the river, the other looking over to the fascinating lift bridge. Plenty of activity on the river which made it quite lively but we enjoyed watching sailing and rowing boats. The room had a board walk-way below the windows which was very noisy with passing pedestrians up until midnight. The room was large and very nicely furnished. Breakfasts in the small dining room were adequate but not exciting. Good parking behind the inn, free for guests Plenty of good restaurants in the very close vicinity and we had an excellent (fairly formal) meal in the 'Flood Tide Restaurant' at the Inn at Mystic.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed one night here, and loved our room. We stayed in Kathleen - it is a HUGE room and very comfortable to stay in. We loved the large bathroom, and the separate sitting room made us feel like we were at right at home! Very nice amenities, and very clean! The bed was a little hard, but since the room was so nice other than that, we didn't let it bother us, and would definately choose that room to stay in again. Nicely decorated, very cozy - we really have no complaints. Free coffee, soda, water included. It was fun to watch the drawbridge right from our room.

If possible, stay here, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Mystic.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vacation.At.Last
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

My partner and I stayed one night at the Steamboat Inn. We arrived at noon time and were able to check in to our room. We had the Katherine room which was HUGE! It was amazing - very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very large with a two person tub. There was also a small kitchen that had a microwave, fridge, and sink. They provided you with plates, silverware, glasses and dishwashing liquid. They also had free water and soda available in the common area. Breakfast was muffins (YUMMY) bagels, cereal, oatmeal, with coffee,tea, and orange juice.

The view from the room is amazing...The inn is right next to the drawbridge and you can watch the huge yachts pass right by your window. There is a loud horn that warns you when the bridge is going up - I never heard it in the morning even though it starts at 7:40am.

I can't say enough about the Inn. The staff were very friendly. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shrubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

The Steamboat Inn is ideally situated in Mystic, CT, right on the edge of the Mystic River in historic downtown Mystic. Given that Mystic is so small, it is a very short drive to any of the sites from any of the hotels in the area; however, all the attractions close early - between 5 and 6 pm - so afterwards it is great to be in a hotel that is close to restaurants, shops, and the boardwalk, like the Steamboat Inn.

The Inn looks quite unimposing from its main entrance, which is at the back of the building, off a parking lot, but the rooms are lovely! We stayed in the Mystic Room (Rm 2), which boasts the best view of all the rooms. We had the amazing luck of booking this room the same day as our arrival, but I would recommend advanced bookings if you have your heart set on staying here, as the hotel was fully sold out by mid-afternoon. We paid $230 for our room, which was a corner room with two walls of windows overlooking the river. There was a seating area and a high four-poster bed. The room and bathroom were very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. My only complaint with the room was with the shower, which had an ancient shower head with a narrow stream that didn't make for a very enjoyable shower. I would have expected a better shower for the rates this Inn charges.

Breakfast is served in a small dining room, starting at 8:30 am to 10 or so. Here was my second complaint: We arrived at 8:30 sharp, only to find there was no where to sit, as the dining room cannot hold all the occupants of the Inn. We returned 10 minutes later, found an empty table, and discovered that many of the food choices were gone. When we asked if these choices would be replenished (eg. cups of fresh berries, muffins), we were told by the server that all the good items go first and there was no more. At 8:40 am?? What are people who arrive at 9:30 going to eat? I was very disappointed by the meagre offerings available to us. I did notice some people eating freshly made eggs, etc, but none were offered to us by the server, and we were in a hurry to be on our way to sight-see. We were left with cold cereal, instant oatmeal, and coffee. Similarly, there is a drawer in the dining room open to guests throughout the night that contained free drinks. When we first checked-in, we were shown a drawer full of choices. However, by the evening, when we went to get a drink, they were almost all gone and were never replenished. Given the rates and the hotel's exclusive reputation, I really expected them to do better on these small details.

Nonetheless, we did enjoy a wonderful stay here. Despite a couple of small grievances, the location, comfort, attractiveness, and view of our room made it worthwhile!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed in the Mystic Room last week, it was simply superb, the view over the river, the perfection of the room and the very friendly staff made this an excellent place to stay. If you are thinking of a break in Mystic then stay at the Steamboat - you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
767 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.8 mi away
Taber Inne and Suites
Taber Inne and Suites
#3 of 12 in Mystic
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing