We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find! Fantastic Location, Place and Innkeeper!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Inne and Cottage
Ranked #7 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a Find! Fantastic Location, Place and Innkeeper!”
Reviewed April 7, 2009

This was a wonderful place! Charming, quaint, quiet, great ambiance and Claude the Innkeeper was sweet, super friendly and eager to please! We stayed in the cottage and it was well worth the money! The hot tub was excellent and the fireplace in the bedroom was so romantic, warm and cozy. The extra living area was great for us and our 10 month old. We loved watching all the birds and the water being steps away was AWESOME! Town is a 2 minute drive and a nice short walk if the weather is nice. Be sure to go to the VooDoo restaurant if you like Cajun and don't miss the awesome bookstore right in town! We can't wait to go back and stay here again! A great time was had by all!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovesitcozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    53
    21
    12
    22
See reviews for
35
100
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My partner and I have stayed at the Harbour Inne & Cottage twice. We enjoy the rustic feel of the place with the feel of a cozy Vermont cabin. There is wood paneling and hard wood floors throughout, as well as the stone fireplace in the living room area. In total, there are seven rooms (including the cottage) to choose from. The first time we stayed in the main building and the second time we stayed in the room attached to the cottage. Both are small rooms, but adequate for overnight sleeping. When we wanted space we hung out in the living room, and made a fire in the stone fireplace. There was plenty of wood. The breakfast of coffee and store bought muffins is sparce, but the muffins were delicious. Claude, the owner, is very low key, pleasant and casual. It almost felt like we had the place to ourselves, even though others were staying there as well. The location is very unique. It is just over the railroad tracks from the main part of town (approx. one mile walk to downtown area) in a somewhat rundown area. The building on the outside is dark weathered wood, not particularly attractive, but the property is literally right on the water. The view is perhaps the best feature of this B&B. It faces a harbor with lovely marina and bridge views. On premises there is a dock, picnic table and gazebo for sitting. The owner let us use a canoe with life jackets to paddle upriver toward the Mystic Seasport. It was a beautiful, sunny and warm March morning. No other boats were out and not a ripple on the water. That made our stay in Mystic so special. It was a great getaway. For a rustic time away without luxuries, we would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleasuretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We found Harbour Inn the perfect place by the water. The innkeeper Claude was waiting for us when we arrived and we were thrilled with our cozy room. Making our coffee early in the morning was perfect for us and joining other guests by the fire was most enjoyable.

As we have our boat in Mystic for the year we look forward to staying at Harbour Inne again and sitting by the water to enjoy watching the boats in the marina.

Sailboaters from ATL

  • Liked — Friendly, convenient, welcoming Innkeeper and environment, by water
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailboatersForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R.I.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2008

The Inn was very dissapointing, unfriendly, and next to a waste water treatment facility. It was dissapointing for a holiday vacation.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1425suv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2008

For Halloween weekend I decided to get away from the hustle and bustle of NYC. I have a very stressful city job and was really looking for something simple, rustic and elegant., I really found it at the Harbour Inne and Cottage.
Located about four hours out of NYC, it is a quaint, "homey" bed and breakfast with all the amenities of such. When I arrived, which was quite late, the Inne Keeper, Claude greeted me with a warm smile and friendly handshake. He took me on a guided tour of the beautiful wooden cottage that I'd rented for the weekend, complete with instructions on how to use both the fireplace and jacuzzi.
The cottage itself is a large, beautiful wooden, rustic, charming "apartment" (I am a New Yorker after all) that contains all the amenities of home. It has a full kitchen complete with a stove, refrigirator/freezer, dishes, a table with chairs and coffee machine. This was great in case you wanted to cook your own meals and not spend mucho dinero at an overly expensive restaurant that might not be any good anyway. The bedroom was also large with two beds and the fireplace. As stated, use of the fireplace came with instructions for the pyro-impaired like yours truly and only added to the overall ambience of the experience. The bathroom was great too and had plenty of towels. In addition, you'll find your own private entrance so you can enter and exit and be as anonymous as you please.
Not being from the area, another ammentity that I found to be beneficial was that Claude handed me a map and gave me tips on the best places to go in the area. This is so much more personal than one having to look on a map on a wall and just find places to go.
The morning greets you with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with muffins, coffee/tea and friendly conversation from Claude and/or other guests. Its not exactly Spago's but its humane, classy and FREE!!!!!
The scenery immediately around the area is beautiful and theraputic as well; there is a beautiful seaport that you can glare out at right outside your window along with a beautifully cut lawn. It's a great reminder of what human beings can be like if they just tried.
Overall, it would be my pleasure to recommend this quaint little place to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. Just make sure that you're ready to relax and exhale. Oh yeah, Claude takes all suggestions for improvement seriously, so feel free to mention something if its not to your liking.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Two friends and myself wanted to rent the Cottage for a week but were told that two nights were already reserved and we could move to the Inne for our last two nights. The Cottage was very nice, cleaned daily and the hot tub on the deck was great.

FYI - The ad says that the Cottage sleeps six. Four of the six would be sleeping in the same room with two double beds. The other two would never be able to sleep on the sleep sofa in the living room because the springs in your back would keep you awake.

There were noticable differences in the cottage and the Inne. The Inne rooms are nicely furnished, but the bathrooms are so small that you can hardly turn around in them. The towels are also different in the Inne, they are very thin and it is difficult to completely dry off after a shower, compared to the fluffy towels in the cottage.

  • Liked — the Cottage
  • Disliked — the Inne
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kermit902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiematt
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I were seeking an afforable pet-friendly inn to stay in on our way home from our anniversary trip in Maine. We found a great place in the Harbour Inn. Claude was a very sweet, kind, accomodating innkeeper. We called him during the day to ask his rates, and told him to expect us. We called him next at 8pm, lost in Mystic, and he gave us directions to the Inn. He was waiting on the porch for us when we got there.

He told us the cost and showed us to a small, charming room. It reminded me of the inside of a boat - under the deck. Everything was wood-paneled...but not cheap, ugly wood paneling; the pretty, rustic kind. And decorated like a boat, too. Very charming. I took a peek at a couple other rooms, which looked much the same. In ours, there was a queen bed, small bathroom with a shower stall, a desk, a couple dressers and a TV. The shower had great pressure and temperature, and the bed was plenty comfortable. Some of the other rooms have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs.

The Harbour Inn is a small place on a dead-end street right by a marina. It doesn't look like much more than a small house, but it was perfect for what we needed, and we will stay there again if we find ourselves passing through again!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amiematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,060 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.6 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Inne and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Inne and Cottage

Property: Harbour Inne and Cottage
Address: 15 Edgemont St, Mystic, CT 06355-2853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six room inn that also has a cottage available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Inne And Cottage Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing