We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ancient Mariner

Ancient Mariner
Ranked #31 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stopped in here for a quick bite during happy hour. Sat at the bar and had an enjoyable experience. Half price drinks and half priced appys. Try the mussels, they are great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    129
    56
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
142 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

After doing some hiking around mystic, I was craving for seafood. We ended up here and the experience was great. The staff was friendly, the food was served fast and the atmosphere of the place was nice. They have a great bar and a big selection of drinks. BTW: love the tuna sampler!

Helpful?
Thank AkirePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch the worst!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Made a reservation for 8 so they could be prepared. Service was terrible. Waitress didn't come by table til all 8 of us were there and then it took 20 minutes to get our drinks and her to come back and take our orders. Place was virtually empty - 2 other tables and 2 people at bar. I ordered the swordfish special which they used frozen fish, not fresh and the vegetable mix looked and tasted a week old. The meal was disgusting! We were going to go there weekly but we will never return!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stumbled into the Mariner ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

to use the bathroom. It was midafternoon and the place was empty. I ended up sitting at the bar and had a drink with a clam chowder. The clam chowder was the absolute best I've ever had. It had a wonderful mild sweet taste with plenty of claims. I can't comment on the rest of the food but I will go back when I am in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossvin324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

A quiet Wednesday evening, I was welcomed immediately by friendly staff, courteous and attentive. I ordered the Lobster Roll. It came quickly, and I devoured it quickly - absolutely delicious!
Also, I'm not a fries kinda person, but this dish came with the best home cooked fries I've ever tried. Ever.

When I'm next in Mystic, I am most definitely returning to the Ancient Mariner!

Helpful?
Thank Thoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ancient Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing