We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR FOOD QUALITY”
Review of Ancient Mariner

Ancient Mariner
Ranked #30 of 100 Restaurants in Mystic
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“POOR FOOD QUALITY”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Visited the Ancient Mariner in Mystic Connecticut on a Friday evening with 2 friends. We sat at the bar for dinner and drinks. While the atmosphere was good the food quality was terrible. I ordered the halibut. What I got was a piece of fish that must have been in the freezer for centuries. Overcooked, dry and had to stab it with my fork to break it apart. One of my friends ordered the spaghetti with clam sauce. The clams, of which he got four, were so large they must have been quahogs. No flavor and tough to eat. If you go, use it as a watering hole to meet eclectic people but stay away from the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    134
    57
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for some pub food & a beer”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We came here looking for a place to watch some Sunday football, have some lunch & enjoy a few beers. That's exactly what we got out of it. The bartender was very friendly & provided excellent service. The food was a little better than average pub food.

It's pretty dark inside & could use a bit more light & the tvs were not high def but overall it was a good place to enjoy an afternoon of food & football.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TPalm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We found this restaurant quite by accident, while walking around Downtown Mystic waiting for our room to be ready at the Whalers Inn(see my review) Its a fun decorated pub with a nautical theme with some kitsch(I like kitsch). The service was good and friendly. I had the lazyman's lobster it is usually on the dinner menu, but it was the lunch special that day. this is lobster stuffed and with panko crumbs in buttery goodness with mashed potatoes(very tasty) and vegetable medley. MY husband had the BLT, it was a nice size burger. This is delicious pub grub. So much so the table next me saw what I ordered and ordered it too. Their dinner menu and happy hour menus also looked good. They have beer and also wine list. Dress is casual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErisShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ancient Mariner Ancient food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was not impressed. The fish was dry, not that tasty, thinly sliced and poorly garnished. Small portions were served to the three of us. Scallops were lousy. I was hoping for fresh seafood and a great meal and was disappointed. We will not be back.
The staff needed to smoke during our meal and decided to smoke at the rear door and hold it open at the same time. All the cigarette smoke found its way back into the restaurant. Two people that came in and were waiting at the hostess station actually walked out when they smelled the smoking.
There are a lot of restaurants nearby. We will try the others!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnG229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“First night dinner”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were served by Melissa and she did a great job. We ordered the steamer, lil' lobby Mac, baked Brie, lobster salad roll and green beans almond vegetables. All of the prior items were just average in preparation and taste. The good news is the price reflects the average review ($).
This would be recommended if you are seeking a restaurant based on lower price. It would be a good place to eat if you are tired and do not want to change clothes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ancient Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing