We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You had better like fish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ancient Mariner

Ancient Mariner
Ranked #30 of 98 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“You had better like fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We visited on a quiet Wednesday evening in October. The restaurant had a small clientele for the size of the place. This was second choice because the seafood restaurant across the drawbridge on the other side was full and had a 50 minute wait at 6pm. Service was prompt and the food was ordinary 'pub' food. But, you have to like fish! The restaurant has a very strong smell of shell-fish that is obvious as you walk in the door. Some people aren't too keen on fishy aromas. I'll bet they turn around and walk right out again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    122
    54
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WNY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loud and crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The live entertainment had little talent and played too loudly. The place was generally too loud. It is dark and the tables are crammed together. The food and service were average.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Terrible service!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My friends and i went to this restaurant and our waitress, Karen or Kelly, was horrible. She had a bad attitude and she thought she was doing us a favor eating there! We were spending good money there to be treated like that! I won't be back!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Quite interesting atmosphere all be it very dark! Live music was good. The food was a very long time in coming and when it finally came mu baked potato was only half cooked and the fries that my husband ordered were nearly black ! Quite expensive for mediocrity!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redhead0453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No wonder there was only a 10 minute wait for a table on a Saturday night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I'm not sure which was worse, the service or the food. The restaurant was busy but not packed. It took over an hour for our food to come. The waitress never came by to apologize or update us on how long it would be. Meanwhile we watched as at least 3 other tables near us sent their food back. When our lobster bake came the seafood was overcooked and rubbery. Next time I'll wait 30 minutes for a table at a better place.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank map22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ancient Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing