We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ok but front desk needs help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok but front desk needs help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was clean, pool was nice but I had issues with the helpfulness of front desk. The day we checked in there was no at the front desk and we could hear one of the employees complaining to another employee very loud that we could hear everything, when the woman came out from the back she didn't even acknowledged that we were waiting. Then the next morning we came down for breakfast and I again noticed that no one was at the front desk because I had a question. The employee Tom came out from the back, and I asked him if we were getting the AAA rate, because I forgot to ask when we checked in, because I thought the rate for the room was $140 not $160 and all he said was "yeah you are getting the AAA rate" and no other explanation . then we left to do some sight seeing and when we came back at 3pm our room keys didn't work on the outside door so a very nice maid came up while we were trying to get in and she helped us, then she follow us to our room to make sure we could get in and both our keys wouldn't work. My husband went up to the front desk to get this fixed and all they did was ask a bunch of questions if we did something to the keys instead of just fixing it. I think that when we checked in that they only put us in for one day because that morning we went to breakfast and back to our rooms and the keys worked. Then later that night I went to check again to make sure that we our car license plate was listed so that car wouldn't get towed. I was told "it didn't matter" because they don't check that, then why do you ask for them. I have stayed at many Hampton Inns and other Hilton hotels and this is the first one I was very disappointed with. There were other little things like the coffee station not being wiped up at night or the coffee not being hot when we went to get some at night (It was always hot and clean at breakfast ). There were also several people who had trouble getting into the pool with our room cards and someone in the pool area had to open the door for us. I just think this hotel needs a little more attention to detail and more helpfulness with the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    309
    62
    22
    16
See reviews for
417
321
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here in June and the hotel was great. They were having construction on the front of the hotel but you wouldn't have known it unless you saw it. The King studio with sofa bed was huge. We stayed on the third floor and it was very quiet. The hotel is right off I-95 and right next to Old Mystic Village and the aquarium. Their is an indoor pool which we did not use but saw, it was not huge but as big as other hotels. We also had free breakfast in the morning. The staff at the front desk was very nice. We did not have any complaints.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexandria4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Having just spent a rough evening in the Hampton Inn in Natick MA this was a wonderful change. The place was clean with working climate control. The only problem was the plug in the bathtub. Not an issue for me but my wife likes a bath.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank stbrown54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and the hotel is located near the highway and near Mystic Village and Mystic Seaport. We stayed over July 4th weekend so the price was probably higher than other weekends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank michellel293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here on our way up the East Coast to Maine. It was a very nice hotel. Close enough off the highway to be convenient, but far away that it cannot be heard or seen. The front-desk staff were especially friendly. They provided a list of local restaurants and took to time to orient us on the map for an evening trip around Mystic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Friendly front desk staff, clean rooms, convenient to the highway and easy to get to area attractions. My 10 year old loved the indoor pool. There was a fridge and microwave in the room (although we didn't use them). The free breakfast was the standard for the Hampton Inn chain - lots to choose from, good coffee. The dining area is small and not enough tables and chairs to accommodate everyone, but we grabbed a spot on the couch in front of the gas fireplace. If we were to visit Mystic again, we would definitely stay here a second time.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a trailer park, so if that matters to you, ask for a different view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dailyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall, when we go back to Mystic, we will go back to the Hampton Inn.

First, the room was noticeably clean to the point where my 6 year old mentioned it. No dust or debris on tile, sheets were crisp, no dust on flat surfaces and well vacuumed carpets. We started on the 1st floor and asked for a 3rd floor room which was provided no question.

Second, the hotel was convenient to the aquarium first, historic Mystic second (~1 mile) and downtown last (~2 miles). initially hoped to walk to aquarium but that is really viable with kids as you are walking under Interstate 95.

Lastly, the staff did help us whenever we had a question from restaurants, locations and for a roll-away bed. The pull out couch in the suite is really not big enough for two boys (10, 6) but this request was made the evening we checked in and it was in the room within 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Given we had kids, suite was only option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edp_middlesex_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystic
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#2 of 14 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#3 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Address: 6 Hendel Drive, Mystic, CT 06355-1971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mystic
#1 Business Hotel in Mystic
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mystic
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hampton Inn Mystic
Hampton Inn Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing