We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Mystic when I came to town to attend a wedding during the first weekend of Summer 2014.
Over all not a bad experience. Here is a break down of the good and the no-so-good.

The good:
The hotel is very convenient to Road Island beaches, casinos and tourist spots in Mystic.
Most areas of the hotel are very clean.
The people that work at the Hampton Inn Mystic are very friendly and helpful.

The not-so-good:
The hotel Is in need of renovation. A renovation is current in progress in the lobby, according to a sign. I saw no other signs of construction.

The walls of the hotel are _very_ thin. You will be able to hear conversations of those in rooms next to you.

The fitness center is not very well maintained and not clean at all. Machines are dirty, rubber pads were peeling off of the one elliptical machine. Treadmills and elliptical made grinding and clanking noises when used.

I cannot comment on the breakfast as we ate breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Find a room at the end of a hall, on the top floor and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Hotel room was clean and comfortable, but unfortunately there was work going on in the corridor near reception. Reception staff were cool but efficient. Gym/Pool etc. were quite good. Overall a reasonable place to stay for a short time

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a poor view over a caravan park. Didn't matter to us but it might to some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel has it all -- pool, fitness center, business center, hot breakfast in the morning, comfortable beds, friendly staff and super nice bathrooms -- they're very modern and clean with lots of counter space. It's located just off I-95, about 15 minutes from Foxwoods Casino, and a half dozen restaurants nearby, including Mystic Pizza. We spent a very restful evening in this accommodating hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a copy of HotelCoupons from any visitor center, rest area, service station or restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyWfromWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We travelled to Mystic earlier this year just to relax for a couple of days. We opted for the Hampton Inn as we were looking for something better than economy class. It did cost a bit more but it was worth every penny. The hotel is within walking distance of Mystic Village and the aquarium if you like to walk. The place is obviously close to brand new. The room was lovely and so clean it was heavenly...not to mention the cloud-like bed with the crisp, clean, fluffy and white bedding! The desk staff was sincerely nice and helpful. The breakfast was obviously not 4 star but completely adequate. We utilized both the pool and the exercise room and found both to be clean and enjoyable. I am going, on future trips, to choose the Hampton Inn if at all possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I picked the hotel because we could stay with our dog. Staff was very accommodating of our small pup and didn't mind letting us leave her in the room in the evening when we had to attend non-pet-friendly events.

There was construction in the foyer, but the staff was very friendly directing us to the side entrance of the building. Lots of signage to easily find the registration desk. Despite the construction, there didn't seem to be any noise in the guest rooms and the walls between rooms were thick. I didn't hear any of my neighbors the whole weekend, except the doors to the hallway swung shut quickly if you weren't careful and slammed easily.

Some things seemed not quite as pristine as the average Hampton, but it wasn't bad and they were clearly in the process of making things nicer. Like the blanket was a little lumpy from going through the laundry a lot and the seat of the chair was badly stained. By the maintenance person who stopped by to plug in our fridge (it required moving some furniture) saw the chair and offered to swap it out for us. The pillows were disappointing. There were lots of them, but they were so flimsy that you needed a lot.

Overall, good place and I'd probably stay there again, especially if traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LogicalLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

There was significant construction in the entrance, and breakfast area. No one worked to help eliminate any inconvenience. Limited luggage carts. I am certain that this will be all resolved with the completion of the project. Very small swimming pool

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDLDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Steven,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration our current construction has caused you. We strive to inform every guest of our improvements and regret this was not outlined when you booked your stay. We hope you will return to see all the exciting changes we are making once our renovations are complete so we may show you the quality hospitality and accommodations you have come to expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,
Stephanie Lee
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here one night June 9th, king bed room on first floor, for just a short overnight to see the Mystic Seaport. We are now a retired couple without kids. Staff was very friendly and lobby renovation is almost complete. The breakfast area is finished so the seating is very convenient to the buffet. Our room was spotless and in good order. A hand written sticky note told us that the duvet had been cleaned, a nice touch. The bathroom was nice and big with plenty of sink counter space and had a very large, walk in shower (no tub). TV and wireless worked very well and a coffee maker, mini frig and microwave were included (we didn't use any of them). Breakfast buffet was very complete, hot oatmeal, eggs with sausage patties, waffle maker, fruit, yogurts, cold cereal, etc. Not home cooked but very adequate for hotel breakfast. This hotel is extremely convenient to I95, area attractions and to the town. There are many good restaurants nearby in all price ranges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InfrequentTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
758 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic

Address: 6 Hendel Drive, Mystic, CT 06355-1971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mystic
#1 Business Hotel in Mystic
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $79 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mystic
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hampton Inn Mystic
Hampton Inn Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing