We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit in conneticut”
Review of Mystic Aquarium

Mystic Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the aquatic world at this combination tourist attraction and research facility, where every underwater creature is more amazing than the last. Exhibits put you in close proximity to whales, penguins, sea lions and a 30,000-gallon tank, where exotic fish from around the world strut their stuff.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place to visit in conneticut”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a fun place to visit, It isn't huge but big enough and interesting enough to stay a few hours . Love the sea animals and the show . Plus they had a scavenger hunt for my daughter made her learn even more... Plus they have a special show movie affordable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luvingthelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    763
    317
    83
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome time for the family!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Mystic Aquarium is a blast for families! We went today. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facility was clean. The whales, which can be seen outside as you come in, we're amazing! There was always a staff member on hand to tell you interesting facts about the whales and answer any questions. The aquarium has three touch tanks! One with sharks, one with rays and one with crabs and that sort of thing. The sea lion show comes with admission and is fabulous! My kids absolutely loved it! The large titanic exhibit is also included with the price and has many interactive exhibits. They also have a couple of 4D movies for an extra $6 per.

I definitely recommend going. Too much good stuff to include here. Go see for yourself!

Helpful?
1 Thank AMHarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So amazing as always!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

First off- to the reviewer who complained about the price...how about you go and ask how much it costs to up keep an aquarium that size and then come back and write a review!! Plus- they give you many opportunities for discounts including using your Big Y card!
This place is small but it's so wonderful. The Beluga whales are so charming! We went late which we have done in the past and works out really well for avoiding crowds. While the aquarium closes the doors at 4, it's still open until 5. We got to really engage with the Belugas since no one else was around. The youngest whale loved my two year old and kept spinning and opening his mouth for her. It was amazing. The exhibits inside are wonderful and educational. I could watch the sea lions and sting rays swim all day. There are also at least three spots where you can get hands on and touch- crabs, sharks, sting rays, hermit crabs and other sea creatures. The penguin exhibit is really great too because you can observe the penguins both on land and when they swim under water. All of the staff are so knowledgeable and friendly. We visit about twice a year and will continue to do so!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinedreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

small but adequate, alot of fun, bring the entire family, lots to do in the area, resraurants, shopping, hotels within walking distance, mystic pizza is close by as well as mystic seaport , new london ct is slose, submarine visit is also close, good restaurants such as thai one on, mysytic pizza, bravo bravo, s&p oyster all good, hilton and hyatt and holiday inn alll close by

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank manseekingfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmondville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mystic Aquarium”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Although this has been my second aquarium I've ever been too, I LOVED IT!. It was a decent size, I loved the shark tank and all the jelly fish tanks! And I can't forget the colorful dart frogs and the hands on stingray pool! I'd definitely good back! I could go on and on what I liked there, but I don't want to ruin the surprise!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArSm734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing