We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING FISHY ABOUT THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mystic Aquarium

Mystic Aquarium
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the aquatic world at this combination tourist attraction and research facility, where every underwater creature is more amazing than the last. Exhibits put you in close proximity to whales, penguins, sea lions and a 30,000-gallon tank, where exotic fish from around the world strut their stuff.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NOTHING FISHY ABOUT THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed the aquarium's seals and sea lions. I never realized just how scary a sea lion is up close. We didn't have small children but they would have enjoyed it immensely.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank edie0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    706
    291
    77
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great even in the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

There was a nice mix of outdoor and indoor exhibits. There are many interactive exhibits which keep kids entertained and are fun for adults too. We enjoyed feeding the birds (for a small extra charge). The Titanic exhibit was a nice bonus. Overall we found lots to see and do here and spent a pleasant couple of hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusphinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Unlike most aquariums there is a lot to see outside. The whales were very fun to watch. The inside is smaller than most aquariums but the outside attractions make up for it. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nazareth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A waist of time and money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place was boring we left in an hour .. When you go inside of exhibit it super crowded and it's hard to find to the exit. We expected alot more for the money. There isn't a lot of space to wander inside the exhibits, because there was about 30 strollers making to hard to move around. If you have a BIG Y card you save $4.00 of admission.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family really enjoyed this interactive aquarium. We visited from Ohio and would definitely recommend it! A bit on the pricey side, but we felt it was well worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmel7578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing