We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Aquarium!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mystic Aquarium

Mystic Aquarium
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the aquatic world at this combination tourist attraction and research facility, where every underwater creature is more amazing than the last. Exhibits put you in close proximity to whales, penguins, sea lions and a 30,000-gallon tank, where exotic fish from around the world strut their stuff.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love this Aquarium!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited here over school break in April. This aquarium is fantastic. A great variety of animals, lots of touch tanks for the kids, a sea lion show that was fun and a cool 4D movie. The tanks are all pristine and the animals are well taken care of. Staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EKDDSDNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    706
    291
    77
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol CT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family spent a day at Mystic Aquarium in late April. While it is quite pricey to get in, it is a very nice aquarium. The beluga whale exhibit is beautiful, the sea lion show is lots of fun, and we loved the titanic exhibit!! We spent a good 3 hours walking around and were able to see everything while taking our time. Nice gift shop and small cafe to grab some lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nxrcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I love this place! I love everything about it! The fish are beautiful. The jellyfish are amazing and the fact that you get to interact makes the experience more amazing. I have visited this place a lot of times and even though it is small, it is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming Aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This aquarium located in Mystic, CT is a small, but very nice aquarium. A great family outing (even for teens!) and not to expensive. Great Titanic exhibition. And the staff are very nice and knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fun for 2-3 hrs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a good 2-3 hr visit with 2 21/2 yr olds. They loved the beluga whales, which were fascinated by objects held up to the glass. The indoor tanks with jellyfish and tropical fish were also favorites. The sea lions and penguins weren't too active when we visited but the bullfrogs were a big hit with the toddlers. We got them to croak and had a frog symphony for a good 15 minutes. Bathrooms were clean and convenient. We didn't eat here or see any of the shows, but the gift shop was well stocked and there were activities that would be geared towards older kids too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank slikrokbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing