We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great aquarium but a bit expensive”
Review of Mystic Aquarium

Mystic Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the aquatic world at this combination tourist attraction and research facility, where every underwater creature is more amazing than the last. Exhibits put you in close proximity to whales, penguins, sea lions and a 30,000-gallon tank, where exotic fish from around the world strut their stuff.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great aquarium but a bit expensive”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not a cheap ticket, but it wasn't too crowded and they have some great exhibits, especially the beluga whales, stingrays and penguins. The 4D movie could use some updates, and when was the last time those 3D glasses were washed, yuck!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ketelup4olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    763
    317
    83
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited with our daughter, three nieces and two in-laws and had a great time. The aquarium is well organized and has plenty of attractions for young and old alike. The Titanic exhibition was lost on the younger members of the family, but the old ones found it interesting. By all accounts, the little ones all loved the sea lion show. Since it was Good Friday, and the schools were out, we decided to be at the aquarium by 9am to beat the crowds. By the time the place started to really get busy, we were ready for the exit(which takes you right through the gift shop).
I really enjoy our visit today and will certainly return. They do such a great job of explaining what it is you are seeing and make seeing the animals very easy. I would not miss this attract if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank BigPeteNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent most of the day at the aquarium last Saturday. I'd not been there in many years, but it was a great trip. The facility was very clean, the staff were nice and even volunteered good info on the animals, especially on the beluga whales.

There are many very fine exhibits including regional habitats, jellyfish, a manta ray touch pool, a nurse shark touch pool, penguin habitat above and below water, sea lions, beluga whales. (Right now there is a visiting pair of mating whales. They are there to teach the resident couple how to breed.) There is also a Titanic exhibit, which looked great but we didn't have time to visit that.

There is a nice, easy flow to the layout of the aquarium facilities. Even in the last weekend of spring break, with lots of families there, it was easy to move through and see all of the aquatic features. I would highly recommend a visit to anyone who is in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“way way way overpriced”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'm sorry to say this - I know it must be hard to run an aquarium, but for a small family you'll pay $120 and there really isn't much to it. The Titanic exhibit is the kind of exhibit where you look at different TV screens, and the "iceberg" is not real or even very good. Plastic and smoke and mirrors. Overall a very cramped and mediocre setting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VicBrennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice,historic day trip. Learned about ship building, whaling and lifestyles in colonial New England.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chipmonk1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing