We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL PLACE TO TAKE OUR GRANDCHILDREN AND FAMILY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mystic Aquarium

Mystic Aquarium
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the aquatic world at this combination tourist attraction and research facility, where every underwater creature is more amazing than the last. Exhibits put you in close proximity to whales, penguins, sea lions and a 30,000-gallon tank, where exotic fish from around the world strut their stuff.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
CHARLESTOWN, RI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE TO TAKE OUR GRANDCHILDREN AND FAMILY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

It is a terrific learning experience. We try to make it there every year. The kids love the hands on at the ray pond and the set up with the sea shells. The exhibits are fun to watch. I can't think of anything we did not enjoy or learn something.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    706
    291
    77
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For the money not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was very expensive and not great attractions. The seal show was nice but I wasn't impressed with the other animal attractions there. Smaller than I thought. Very crowded.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A hit with the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our 3 loved it! We like how it is roomy and you don't feel on top of others - like you do at the New England Aquarium in Boston. Kids loved the hands on displays and staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Titanic exhibit was great! Missed having the dolphins. Seemed like there are a lot of sea lion and seals there. Jazz things up a bit and get some other types of sea creatures. Prices are too expensive!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chappylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mystic Seaport Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Mystic Aquarium is a must for children of all ages. The staff is very pleasant. Went over President's Day with my granddaughter. Very enjoyable time. As for lunch I would advise to eat early or after 2:00 . Lunch can be very busy. Food is good. Admission is pricy but worth the visit. My family has been there at least 4 times.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen Wade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“nice diversion but no penguins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went over President's weekend and saw the Titanic exhibit- interesting- and the Beluga whales-very lively and enjoyable despite the exhibit being outside in temperatures in the low 20"s. Surprisingly crowded-lots of couples as well as families with small children. Did not check out the 4D theater because the only movie showing this week is Sponge Bob Squarepants. The aquarium map is surprisingly lacking in detail- best to find your way around using the signs or asking for directions. Disappointingly, didn't get to see the penguins because they are from the Southern hemisphere and unable to tolerate an outdoor exhibit in this cold weather.No indoor penguin exhibit_We were told they might set something up on short notice to exhibit one or two penguins but no one seeme dto have the specifics and we got tired of waiting. If you're in the area for more than one day, you can have your ticket verified before you leave and get readmission for the subsequent two days. Maybe we'll try for the penguins again because at $30 apiece, woulld have been nice to see at least one penguin! The New England Aquarium does have an indoor penguin exhibit thats not weather dependent so will try that next time. A free highlight was the red tailed hawk that landed in a tree just as we were leaving- spectacular sight and free! Dress warmly as you have to exit the main building to access the other main exhibits.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing