We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and cold:)”

Olde Mistick Village
Ranked #6 of 33 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This recreated 18th-century New England village offers a refreshing change from shopping malls as we know them. Browse or buy in the more than 60 small shops or dine in one of this charming setting's many eateries.
Oakdale,ct
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and cold:)”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited all the little shop's. It was super cold out so we stopped at a coffee house and I do believe we had the freshest coffee ever!! The hot chocolate was amazing as well!! It's a must see!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    467
    250
    34
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great shopping place for a variety of cute stores”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nice little stores that have all kinds of things weather its jewelry,flag shops indoor items and outdoors ,and places to eat either sit down or snacks

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cs7190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Just browse this area....”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our 1st ever here & man, we never knew that this small mistick village was here because we visited the mystic aquarium. Because it rain & we were on our way home from visiting friends too, we were exhausted so we had left to go home. Next year when we have mores time & not so tired, we are going back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Skip this - many better things to do with your time.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been to many villages with shops in the US and we found this to be very disappointing. There didn't seem to be any shoppes that we haven't see before and the merchandise was overpriced and not worth the cost. It seems to be a weak imitiation of Smithville Village in New Jersey outside of Atlantic City. We will not go back and recommend if you have limited time - just skip this stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had heard about this area for years and looked forward to my visit to Mystic for the chance to see them. The shops were antiquated with minimal selections. Most of the shops were directed at very specific shoppers. The vast majority of the shops were overpriced with little selection. The only place that seemed to have any real selection, was the sports store (I forget the name).

I did not buy anything and had gone there with plans to spend a bunch.

I don't know why anyone would go here unless they were going to the aquarium and just walked over to waste time.

It will not get my recommendation. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Mistick Village also viewed

 

Been to Olde Mistick Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing