We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”
Review of Mystic Seaport

Mystic Seaport
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.95*
and up
Admission to Mystic Seaport
More Info
$249.00*
and up
New England Country Christmas With Mystic Seaport Lantern Tour
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mystic Seaport is the nation's leading maritime museum. Founded in 1929, the Museum is home to four National Historic Landmark vessels, including the Charles W. Morgan, America's oldest commercial ship and the last wooden whaleship in the world. The Museum's grounds cover 19 acres on the Mystic River in Mystic, CT and include a recreated 19th-century coastal village, a working shipyard, formal exhibit halls, and state-of-the-art artifact storage facilities. Mystic Seaport is located one mile south of Exit 90 off I-95 in Mystic, CT.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Seaport is especially interesting if u are interested in maritime history. Expect to pay at the front and pay for every little thing/craft once in. We will not be back to visit. Once is enough. Buy your tickets at the tourist info center for $4 off admission.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BB601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,537
    696
    201
    47
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wytheville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A WHALE OF A TIME!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved spending a long weekend here in Mystic, Conn. It was a gift from my employer for working on a special project for them at work. We stayed at the 1898 House (I think that was the year it was built) and had a complimentary dinner at a unique restaurant which was in a restored older seaport home overlooking the inlet. The dinner and the service was spectacular. Don't remember the name of the restaurant but it was just over the bridge and the first street on the left. While there, we also visited Mystic Seaport and got to see all kinds of things pertaining to that period of time. A lot of interesting history in that area that we hadn't known before. Also was able to tour a whaling ship and was surprised at the cramped sleeping and eating quarters of the men and boys. The captains got some of their crew by finding them drunk the night before and dragging them on the ship so that they could "involuntarily" join his crew. They were usually gone for months and months and sometimes even years before returning home. What a terrible and difficult life that must have been for them. Many never made it because of the dangers and also because of injuries and illnesses from lack of nourishment. Don't forget, they didn't have refrigerators or freezers back then. We also visited the casinos nearby and did a little gambling and shopped in the many shops in the area. We enjoyed the area so much that we even treated our son and daughter-in-law to a weekend on their 21st birthdays and they were able to gamble a little for the first time. And.....we dined at Mystic Pizza which was a movie which Julia Roberts played in years ago. All in all, it was a very enjoyable weekend trip and I would recommend it to couples, families with young children and teens, friends, for business and even solo......

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank edie0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidor, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Village”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The admission price will allow you to enter any two days during the week. We were there on the weekend of the boat show and it was nice to return when there was less congestion. There are additional paid activities for the children to enjoy such as banjo making and candle dipping. Enjoyed the whaling ship, and the fishing boat! Friendly people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ldygrnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historic seafront village”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

There is lots to look at as you walk around this re-creation of a historic village. Many of the old buildings have what amounts to mini museums in them, each dedicated to a different topic (eg: figure heads, sailing history). Although the whaling ship is being refurbished so you can't board it, it is interesting to see the restoration in progress. We spent a couple of hours wandering the grounds and if you are the type that likes to look at every display in museums, you could easily spend more time. We purchased the combination pass with the aquarium and it allows you to return the next day at no charge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusphinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley ny
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to visit”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we got there when it opened so it was not crowded. We were able to wander the whole seaport and chat with the people working there for as long as we wanted. We definitely enjoyed the singing tour guide for the tall ship. He had us all singing and was very interesting and entertaining. Beautiful place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Seaport also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing