We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Zen-like Experience”
Review of Winvian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Winvian
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
greenwich, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Zen-like Experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

TIm Burton meets the Four Seasons.

This eclectic but amazingly wonderful place is without question one of the most romantic and unique get-aways I have ever experineced. Not far from NYC, all of the units are individually designed One-bedroom, one bath homes that create a fantasy like setting for the perfect weekend. Aside from knock-your-socks off accomodations, the restaurant is literally right up there with Zagat 26+ NYC restaurants (seriously), the Spa was amazing, its quiet, there are only a limited numbe of guests and the staff can not be any more accomodating.

Is it expensive? Yes and no. It cost a lot of money, but since we didn;t fly to an island and had such a fantastic time, I'd have to say it's relatively a good value (but again, not cheap). However, you get what you pay for.

If you love Vegas, this is not for you, If you love Cap Juluca, Parrott Kay, The Wequasett Inn or others of that Ilk, this is more in line - but with a TIm Burtonesque twist to it. I mean really, who thinks of these things!!!!!

Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markfishercbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    38
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
133
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My boyfriend and I just returned from our Valentine's weekend away at the Winvian in the Beaver Cottage. Our room was beautifully, creatively, and impeccably designed. The Cottage's upstairs space is underutilized: it has a chess board and a stranded leather couch, but no fireplace, no TV, no table or desk to work. Other than when we were first exploring the cottage, we never used the space. The rest of the cottage was meticulously loyal to its theme, but at times, seemed to emphasize kitsch over functionality. A few other caveats -- the internet was unbearably slow and the tv temperamental.

We were happy with our experience, and would return and explore the other cottages. However, in the middle of winter, there simply isn't much to do, other than lounge around. I imagine the grounds are beautiful in the summer, the outdoor spaces of the cottages lovely, and the opportunities to explore the grounds on foot or canoe ample. They no longer have cross-country skiing, as they advertise on their website. The public space has a foosball table, pool table, and shuffleboard table--all fun. Spa and private yoga both lovely too.

Our main complaint was that the service simply isn't commensurate with the price. The caliber of service of hotels in a similar price range far surpass that here. When sitting in the public space, we were rarely offered any food or drink, and whenever we wanted something, we felt we had to set out in search of a staff member.

Moreover, we called in advance to ask if the restaurant was willing to accommodate vegetarians, and they assured us that they were happy to. When we arrived, they seemed surprised and a little annoyed about food constraints. While the food was pretty good, they served virtually the same thing for two dinners and a lunch. Also, they charged 10 dollars more for dinner on 2/13 than the night before, even the menu was exactly the same, and they simply gave as a half-glass of rose champagne.

We would return in warmer weather to explore other cottages, but I hope that the service improves over time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend in the Connecticut Yankee cabin. It was a wonderful experience- staff was professional and attentive. Our bed was very comfortable, bathroom was huge and stocked with REN products- steam shower and jet tub were great. We had excellent massages at the the spa- which was gorgeous. The food was wonderful- one of the best places to eat in Litchfield County. The location is beautiful- quiet and secluded. If you are an outdoor enthusiast this is a place for you. If you are looking for crazy nightlife I do not recommend it here. They seem to be big on privacy and it's typically couples only I believe or at least was when we were there. There are a lot of cute quirky things to do in Litchfield and surrounding area besides hiking, etc such as antiquing, flea markets, theater, yoga, etc. It's a very sweet town. Other place I'd recommend to eat is West Street Grill or wander over to The Pantry or GW Tavern in Washington, CT. Morris itself is a cute little place. It doesn't have a downtown like Litchfield but has Bantam Lake, White Flower Farm, hiking trails and some beautiful old farms. We are excited to return and check out some of the other cabins.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We did not stay at this property however we did get a tour of the facilities before our dinner at the restaurant. It is absolutely beautiful and we have seen our share of elegant high end properties. The main building has a classic New England feel to it. The service we experienced was excellent. However we did go on a very slow night. When you arrive at the gate you have to ring the front desk to get in. There is a long driveway that takes you to the entrance. We were graciously greeted and asked if we would like a tour of the cottages. The cottages are unique and gorgeous all with fireplaces, wet bars, and awesome bathrooms. (cottages are more spectacular than the pics on website). After our tour we were seated in the dining room (3 to choose from) in front of a crackling fireplace. We called ahead of time because of dietary restrictions and they were very accommodating. The chef prepared an awesome and creative meal that was absolutely delicious. The service was very professional yet friendly(not stuffy like many of the 5 star places). Winvian is a great place for just relaxing in a beautiful setting with excellent service and accommodations. This place is expensive however you get the expected service and surroundings for the money. We highly reccommend Winvian and will certainly be booking a weekend escape in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a1worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We celebrated our anniversary with another couple who recommended we try Winvian's restaurant that had recently opened to the public. The food was quite good, though quite expensive ($250 a couple without wine). The service however was not. Poorly trained youngsters who did not serve from the right and even the host reached across us to place plates. Water wasn't refilled without request. Should be better for the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My huband and I spent July 4th weekend at the Winvian. We booked one of their weekend a la carte packages (it inluded breakfast and the mini bar). The property is huge and fun to walk or bike around, the staff are amazing! We stayed in the Greenhouse cottage which was very modern and well appointed. We loved the layout of the property and the little extra things the staff did (such as having a campfire with smores at night). The surrounding towns didn't have much to offer so we spent most of our time at the resort. If you are looking for a low key and different experience (although very expensive) we would definitely recommend the winvian.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband, seven old son and I traveled up to Winvian for one of their family friendly weekends on the fourth of July. We had a wonderful time there. The place is lovely with wide open fields and a pond filled with bullfrogs.and a lovely updated farmhouse which housed the spectacular restaurant, a warm and inviting sun room, and a game room. Other activites on site included badminton, volleyball, soccer and croquet. There were also bikes for each cottage. As for the cottages we had the good fortune to stay in two different cottages (Artist and Maritime) which were light and airy and absolutely beautiful. The staff were so warm and accommodating --(Paulo, Rebecca, Nick and especially Dave saw that our needs were met)
Every day we would go hiking, canoeing and biking -- and the staff would make sure that there was a canoe waiting for us at a special stream or deliver a picnic lunch for our hike around a picturesque marsh. At night, there was a bonfire set up in the middle of a field and s'more were passed around. We had dinner at the inn every night and the food is just amazing All in all, Winvian is an fantastic getway for a family and all that we hope is that next year they put in a pool so we never have to vacation anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank hooper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morris
7.1 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
15.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
2.9 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
490 reviews
13.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
90 reviews
22.9 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winvian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winvian

Property: Winvian
Address: 155 Alain White Rd, Morris, CT 06763-1419
Location: United States > Connecticut > Morris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Winvian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills lies a quiet getaway; Winvian. Set amidst 113-acres and bordering extensive woods and lakes, Winvian was created to recharge and indulge. No less than fifteen architects have designed 18 individualized cottages that combine the whimsical with the traditional, the modern with the historical. Each has enough surprises to lure and charm without detracting from the views, the surrounding nature and the comforts that allow guests to relax and rejuvenate. ~18 individual, custom designed cottages and one (1) master suite~Cottage sizes range from 950 to 1,250 square feet~5,000 full service Spa with 6 individual treatment rooms~Executive Boardroom will full IT and conferencing capability~Celebrations, weddings, parties, events, etc in our Gordon Brown house~AAA 5-Diamond rated restaurant ~AAA 5-Diamond rated hotel~Member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux society~Conde Nast Top 30 US Small Resort~Surrounded by 4,000 acres of the White Memorial Preserve~Privately owned and fully confidential property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Winvian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winvian Hotel Morris
Winvian Resort Morris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing