We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive and very romantic”
Review of Winvian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Winvian
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We did not stay at this property however we did get a tour of the facilities before our dinner at the restaurant. It is absolutely beautiful and we have seen our share of elegant high end properties. The main building has a classic New England feel to it. The service we experienced was excellent. However we did go on a very slow night. When you arrive at the gate you have to ring the front desk to get in. There is a long driveway that takes you to the entrance. We were graciously greeted and asked if we would like a tour of the cottages. The cottages are unique and gorgeous all with fireplaces, wet bars, and awesome bathrooms. (cottages are more spectacular than the pics on website). After our tour we were seated in the dining room (3 to choose from) in front of a crackling fireplace. We called ahead of time because of dietary restrictions and they were very accommodating. The chef prepared an awesome and creative meal that was absolutely delicious. The service was very professional yet friendly(not stuffy like many of the 5 star places). Winvian is a great place for just relaxing in a beautiful setting with excellent service and accommodations. This place is expensive however you get the expected service and surroundings for the money. We highly reccommend Winvian and will certainly be booking a weekend escape in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a1worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 192 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

We celebrated our anniversary with another couple who recommended we try Winvian's restaurant that had recently opened to the public. The food was quite good, though quite expensive ($250 a couple without wine). The service however was not. Poorly trained youngsters who did not serve from the right and even the host reached across us to place plates. Water wasn't refilled without request. Should be better for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My huband and I spent July 4th weekend at the Winvian. We booked one of their weekend a la carte packages (it inluded breakfast and the mini bar). The property is huge and fun to walk or bike around, the staff are amazing! We stayed in the Greenhouse cottage which was very modern and well appointed. We loved the layout of the property and the little extra things the staff did (such as having a campfire with smores at night). The surrounding towns didn't have much to offer so we spent most of our time at the resort. If you are looking for a low key and different experience (although very expensive) we would definitely recommend the winvian.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband, seven old son and I traveled up to Winvian for one of their family friendly weekends on the fourth of July. We had a wonderful time there. The place is lovely with wide open fields and a pond filled with bullfrogs.and a lovely updated farmhouse which housed the spectacular restaurant, a warm and inviting sun room, and a game room. Other activites on site included badminton, volleyball, soccer and croquet. There were also bikes for each cottage. As for the cottages we had the good fortune to stay in two different cottages (Artist and Maritime) which were light and airy and absolutely beautiful. The staff were so warm and accommodating --(Paulo, Rebecca, Nick and especially Dave saw that our needs were met)
Every day we would go hiking, canoeing and biking -- and the staff would make sure that there was a canoe waiting for us at a special stream or deliver a picnic lunch for our hike around a picturesque marsh. At night, there was a bonfire set up in the middle of a field and s'more were passed around. We had dinner at the inn every night and the food is just amazing All in all, Winvian is an fantastic getway for a family and all that we hope is that next year they put in a pool so we never have to vacation anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hooper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I found this property close to my home in CT. Everyone was exceptionally nice and all my requests were handled in a very timely manner. Meals were especially well prepared and presented. The porch at lunchtime was an ideal location with a refreshing breeze. Since the property has so many different cottages, I look forward to returning many time and trying out many different ones. Aside from the pricetag, which is consistent with Twin Farms in Vermont, everything exceeded my expectations. My two days there passed too quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Luxury Link
3  Thank boatbuddy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Well I just returned from a little trip to Morris town Ct to visit a very special place called Winvian. This was my third experience and wow, I must say that I was overjoyed once again! What an escape this trip was, I have got to get back asap, preferably now, but sad to say we have to return to reality, where we will look forward to our next escape.

Each experience has set a new precedence for luxury, relaxation and style. The sprawling property is perfect for a stroll and provides an intelligently designed landscape that encapsulates the essence of “escape”. If you appreciate design then Winvian will blow you away.

The architecture and design of the cottages are brilliant and as I say they kind of take on a life of their own. In other words they are like works of art. We stayed at the Tree House, Beaver Lodge, and Helicopter Cottage. I haven’t had the privilege to experience all of them from the inside out, but I can only imagine they are equally as amazing.

The main house is a beautiful and grand18th century colonial. It is a great comfort to enjoy this historical yet elegant house where the food and drink are thoroughly loved. The food too is a work of art. Each bite presented my mouth with a myriad of flavors that were in short, perfect. The spa is a dream, one that my wife and I don’t want to wake-up away from.

Until that next escape, away from it all, Winvian will be in my dreams….

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Xperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Winvian, in a gorgeous, rural, 18th Century corner of Connecticut, is an unforgettable hotel. You enter on a tree-lined drive by buzzing in through a gate; the staff knows and is expecting you. The main part of the hotel is a big old 18th Century farmhouse that has been added onto quite elegantly, and the guest rooms are in separate cottages throughout the grounds – which consist of woods, a small orchard and open meadows. The guest cottages are out of this world. Each one was created by a different architect, and each one has its own atmosphere and identity that is in some way related to the state of Connecticut. I stayed in a cottage called “Connecticut Yankee,” a spacious, comfortable room dominated by plush four poster bed and a wood burning fireplace. There were “Arthurian” touches to the room – throne-like red velvet armchairs, medieval-looking furniture, and a truly fantastic bathroom shaped from full-size Stonehenge-esque slabs of rock. Each giant stone must have weighed thousands of pounds, and balanced upon each other they outlined the entrances to a huge double steamroom/shower and a deep jetted tub. My companions stayed in a cottage with a vast oak tree in the center of the room and a silo with carpeted stairs and a sitting/lookout area at the top. Next door was the “Helicopter” cottage, with a vintage Sakorsky helicopter in the room. Incredible. A sitting area and bar is in the main body of the helicopter, otherwise, the craft is intact and original. We got a tour of all the cottages, and agreed that our favorite was “Woodlands” – a beautiful suite with a running waterfall and a shower composed of about ten thousand, smooth stacked grey pebbles.

We had dinner at Winvian both nights of our stay, and the food was truly sublime, as good as I’ve had in renowned Manhattan restaurants. The staff was attentive, welcoming, friendly but never smothering. A great game room, with shuffleboard, billiards, darts, poker and a good blazing fire was a tremendously fun way to start the evenings. We visited in February, and because of the raw weather, there was not much to do outside of the hotel other than driving to different - admittedly charming - Colonial-era towns. I’d return in the summer and make use of the hotel’s bikes and nearby trails, or try a hot air balloon ride… Winvian is extraordinary, and makes a trip to a part of Connecticut you might not otherwise visit well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBennettNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morris
7.1 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
15.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
106 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
522 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winvian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winvian

Address: 155 Alain White Rd, Morris, CT 06763-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Morris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Price Range: $592 - $1,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Winvian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills lies a quiet getaway; Winvian. Set amidst 113-acres and bordering extensive woods and lakes, Winvian was created to recharge and indulge. No less than fifteen architects have designed 18 individualized cottages that combine the whimsical with the traditional, the modern with the historical. Each has enough surprises to lure and charm without detracting from the views, the surrounding nature and the comforts that allow guests to relax and rejuvenate. ~18 individual, custom designed cottages and one (1) master suite~Cottage sizes range from 950 to 1,250 square feet~5,000 full service Spa with 6 individual treatment rooms~Executive Boardroom will full IT and conferencing capability~Celebrations, weddings, parties, events, etc in our Gordon Brown house~AAA 5-Diamond rated restaurant ~AAA 5-Diamond rated hotel~Member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux society~Conde Nast Top 30 US Small Resort~Surrounded by 4,000 acres of the White Memorial Preserve~Privately owned and fully confidential property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Winvian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winvian Hotel Morris
Winvian Resort Morris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing