We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After designing, someone lost most of the interest.”
Review of Winvian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Winvian
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“After designing, someone lost most of the interest.”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The cabins are fascinating, unfortunately with many of the standard flaws of fabulous design (function has not been a priority). Try to get the lights the way you want or listen to the expensive sound system or why not watch some TV, if you are not an engineer, you won't have time for bikes or steam shower.

The dining experience is haphazard, occasionally the courses are fantastic, occasionally the best course of action is to send it back to the kitchen and try something else. The difference in quality between the courses is in itself an experience, very few restaurants perform fantastic on the first starter and continue with a total disaster on the second. Even fewer continue through a seven course meal in this fashion, this one does.

The architects employed to design the cabins seems not to have been involved in designing the restaurant. The design sort of goes along with the food, it varies, for better or worse.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    38
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
133
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The novelty of the Winvian is based upon the theme of the cottages, music, library, golf, etc.. While this concept is unique once the layers are pealed away we were less than impressed.

Room Tip: Bring lots of cash, better yet have a large credit limit you will need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank OSHCON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is expensive, there is no getting away from this, but believe me every penny is worth it. The cottages are designed and maintained to the highest of standards, with lovely touches such as a fireplace in the bathroom, Bose sound system throughout and expresso machine.
Make sure you are hungry for the restaurant, lots of courses, all very high standard.
Would definitely like to return, to try out the other cottages.

Room Tip: 3 Different tiers, we stayed in Industry which was lovely. Helicopter will blow your mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

First, let me start by saying that it is a little difficult to navigate the website to find out exactly how much things cost. You get a much better deal if you book one of the special packages they offer. For example, the Romance Escape package allowed us to get a Tier 3 Cottage (we stayed at the Beaver Lodge) for about $400 less than a la carte but included a dinner, couples massage and champagne. What is interesting that when I figured it out and called to book over the phone the person did not give me the correct price right away and I had to correct her. This actually goes for the whole billing process, we were given an incorrect bill both on arrival and check out - it was quickly fixed but they have a very complicated pricing system- for ex, instead of just stating "Romance package - $2,066" they have a long list of how much each item that you receive would have cost if booked separately plus tax then the package discount - a mess. Same thing at check out, instead of just stating that in addition to what we already paid (the package price) we booked a canoe trip and had room service once they had a mile long list of every thing that we had (the free champagne, dinner, etc)so it was confusing and incorrect.
Having said this, we had an AMAZING time. Our expectations were high since we had stayed at Twin Farms and liked that a lot, and we were paying over $2,800 for this weekend (with one dinner and massage included but not all inclusive like Twin Farms) but this overcame our expectations. We thought the cottage was amazing - the detailing, the beaver dam above the bed, gorgeous tub, touch lighting everywhere, gorgeous fireplace, many many wonderful little touches (a super romantic room). The only tiny complaint is the relative lack of toiletries - I love hotel soap and usually take a bar as a souvenir. We got two teeny hand bars at each sink, none in shower (we even called and asked for soap in shower and that was the one request that was never filled), and after we used up the teeny bar it was not replaced the next day.
Aside from above, the service was courteous, prompt and not intrusive. We thought the food was very good, not amazing (we are big foodies and go to NYC for dinners all the time). We loved our canoe trip down the river (we saw a real beaver dam!),campfire at night, champagne after the wonderful couples massage.
It felt like we were away forever. Definitely pricey but we thought it was worth the expense. We only visited 2 other cottages (stable and helicopter) but I would love to try Woodlands and Greenhouse. The gourmet experience is also a good package to try as it is only $400 more than a la carte tier 2 cottage but includes 2 dinners with wine pairings,two massages (or a cooking lesson) and upgrade if available. If you are looking to relax, reconnect with a SO and be pampered this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was very impressed by the Chef at Winvian, Chris Eddy. The food was excellent, farm to table fresh, nicely presented with good, informed service. We had a tasting menu twice and both were very nice. His sweetbreads and pigeon are some of the best I've had in the States. Wine selection is adequate. The rooms are whimsical. We stayed in Greenhouse - a lovely suite with sunshine and views of the forest. Privacy was reasonable. Room was nicely appointed, with steam shower and Jacuzzi. Amenities adequate although sparse (had to request but received bath salts and soap). Housekeeping was a bit lackluster, with dust bunnies and dirt on the floor that didn't move during our visit. Beautiful grounds with nice walks possible; it would have been nice to have a trail connection to the adjacent White Memorial Forest. Excellent service and well trained, pleasant young staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Recently returned from a blissful 26 hours at the Winvian. The guest services are just what you would expect from a Relais & Chateau property: a manager met us at the parking lot upon arrival, fireplace lit & hot bath ran without asking, & gracious hospitality throughout.

The property is absolutely beautiful, & the cottages are jaw dropping. We originally reserved the Treehouse, but stayed at the Woodlands after touring several of the cottages. (Also saw Camping, Industry, & Music.) It was even larger than it appeared on the website, & I believe that every cottage is actually not done justice through pictures. Each one was more magnificent in person than online. The bathroom was absolutely heavenly- soaking in the sunken tub w/ a full view of the trees was like bathing in the forest!

Had a delightful afternoon kayaking & had also planned for a sunrise hot-air balloon ride. Unfortunately, the weather didn't permit this. We spent the morning at the Spa instead, getting couples' treatments in the Forty Winks Suite. Delightful!

Chef Eddy's food was superb! We did a tasting menu for my husband's birthday & enjoyed every course. The next day, Chef Eddy invited us to stroll the vegetable garden & taste the different herbs- a true 'farm to table' experience!

Less than 2 hours from NYC, this is definitely an ideal destination to get away from the bustle of city life & be pampered in luxury. We will surely return for another weekend of relaxation & leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a tour of available cottages beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardson258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ct
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I hope this place succeeds because it is unique! We travelled mid-week ala carte on an Amex upgrade program, which was a terrific value, and felt like a reasonable, though still expensive, amount to pay for a special cottage (we stayed in Stone).

The cottages are imaginative, spacious and fun. The real highlight of a trip here is the food, which is nothing short of spectular (whoever gave the food mediocre reviews must have been there when the chef was out of town). The restaurant overlooks a large kitchen garden and nearly everything is locally sourced. The bread was fresh, the pasta was homemade and out of this world, the steak was fantastic, the mint-cuccumber sorbet was fabulous. And the homemade terrines, the cheeses, the desserts - all wonderful and memorable. Dinner service was attentive and warm. We sat outside on the upstairs porch and loved it.

This is a very pretty property, with unique and spacious themed cottages. The spa is very nice, but not especially memorable. It is hard to understand why a pool wasn't a priority from the start, since there is no appealing swimming nearby -- to succeed at these prices, at least an outdoor pool is sheer necessity for summer guests, and i have to add, the resort wasn't nearly full -- a bad sign in mid-july. No hot tubs at the spa either, as far as I know -- odd for a four seasons resort, especially one without a pool. I would think that a tennis court would be useful too. The work-out room was only adequate, not wildly inviting. The area around Litchfield is pretty, but not as lively as the Berkshires -- more to do at the resort would be welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morris
7.1 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
15.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
2.9 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
490 reviews
13.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
90 reviews
22.9 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winvian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winvian

Property: Winvian
Address: 155 Alain White Rd, Morris, CT 06763-1419
Location: United States > Connecticut > Morris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Winvian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills lies a quiet getaway; Winvian. Set amidst 113-acres and bordering extensive woods and lakes, Winvian was created to recharge and indulge. No less than fifteen architects have designed 18 individualized cottages that combine the whimsical with the traditional, the modern with the historical. Each has enough surprises to lure and charm without detracting from the views, the surrounding nature and the comforts that allow guests to relax and rejuvenate. ~18 individual, custom designed cottages and one (1) master suite~Cottage sizes range from 950 to 1,250 square feet~5,000 full service Spa with 6 individual treatment rooms~Executive Boardroom will full IT and conferencing capability~Celebrations, weddings, parties, events, etc in our Gordon Brown house~AAA 5-Diamond rated restaurant ~AAA 5-Diamond rated hotel~Member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux society~Conde Nast Top 30 US Small Resort~Surrounded by 4,000 acres of the White Memorial Preserve~Privately owned and fully confidential property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Winvian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winvian Hotel Morris
Winvian Resort Morris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing