We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that expensive but worth every dollar”

The Restaurant at Winvian
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Winvian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Morris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: AAA 5-Diamond rate restaurant, Relais & Chateaux memberSeasonal, organic and sustainable garden grown directly on our grounds produces the freshest local ingredients for Executive Chef Chris Eddy's culinary masterpieces. Experience Chef's "seed to table" menus and explore his epicurean delights.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not that expensive but worth every dollar”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Last Satuday I enjoyed an amazing lunch at Winvian Restaurant and found that a meal there in a beautiful setting doens't cost more than at far lesser places. The Chef added two tasting treats which made a three course event even more special. In fact, the tasting items were mini courses all by themselves.

They had a group in the area where they typically serve lunch and I enjoyed my meal in one of the rooms usually reserved for dinner. It was elegant and I felt that my personal staff were serving me in my country estate.

Even if you don't have the opportunity to stay in one of their cottages, their lunch is a fine dining experience and well worth the drive

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boatbuddy2007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    8
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food & atmosphere, but very pricy”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Went for our anniversary; food was very good, however selection was a little bit run of the mill, not particularly innovative; service was good although I found it a little too rushed; atmosphere is lovely. Good wine list, but be prepared: it is focused on high end wines, not many at "average" prices.
EXTREMELY PRICY all around . Last time we were there was over a year ago; probably will not return for at least that long...perhaps for another special occasion, although there are other local options that might be half the price for food just as good or better. The value here for me, are the beautiful surroundings, grounds, facilities, architectural details, elegance.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Deserves its 5 Diamonds”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place is spectacular, in every way imaginable. Food was some of the most delicious I've ever had (and I live in NYC and get to eat out a lot), service was befitting of a 5-star property, and ambiance was perfectly romantic. Menu is somewhat limited but is refreshed daily, and many of the ingredients are grown organically right on the property. Best of all, if you're staying at the Winvian resort, you never have to leave the property if you don't want to!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank acolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I thought I was eating a Michelin rated restaurant in NYC or Vegas.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gastronomic treat”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I took 5 quests to dinner at the Winvian restaurant including a graduate of the culinary institute of America. We were all delighted and impressed. The service was impeccable and the surroundings most charming.

Helpful?
Thank dumduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Winvian also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Winvian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing