We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fun place, excellent food”

Serengeti Restaurant
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great value, fun place, excellent food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is my local as I live 5 minutes walk away but this is my first visit. It won't be my last. The place was packed on a Tues night, we arrived about 7:30 and had to wait 15 minutes or so to get a table for 2. Nobody was in a hurry to leave and why not? It was ribs night. I had the ribs with chips and salad bar. My companion had fish with veggies. Mine was was the better choice. We also shared a $38 bottle of wine which was the most expensive item we ordered, but being a South African red wine was well worth it. The service was fine and friendly although I agree with comments that we were almost rushed to pay and it was only 9:30 or so. I guess they wanted to start cleaning up. Anyway the food was great and compared with a small lunch at Mexico that I had recently, this place was not expensive for a proper full meal. Well done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougcoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    6
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow ! ”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Great food, seriously amazing service, fantastic care and effort and a real homely feeling .
Kids entertainment corner is helpful too and the prices are well worth it. !

Helpful?
Thank Pippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great South African food”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

They have a play area for the kids with video games and TV so you can eat in peace, and the kids can play after eating.

The burgers and ribs are excellent!

Make sure to book, they are often full even during the week as they have some all you can eat rib nights that are very popular.

Helpful?
Thank Emargee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We came here for an anniversary dinner and I must say the food was delicious. steaks were cooked to perfection and so were the prawns and ribs. Our waitress was very friendly and made our evening even more enjoyable.
We plan on coming back again :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b0w26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Family Friendly and Great Food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've been 2 x now and this restaurant is quickly becoming our new favourite. We're Kiwis (well, one original American) but still appreciate the African theme. And they definitely know how to cook meat - great steaks and awesome ribs. Very family friendly - there's a kids room ('Cubs Den') with TV, PlayStation and colouring books and things. Staff always really welcoming and friendly. Love that they have a full bar too.
Kids menu is good - if you have a non-SF kid who is picky like mine ask for 'no vegetable salt' on the fries, otherwise they have a powdery coating. Chicken nuggets are yum - real chicken breast, no dodgey ground up stuff here! Dessert included - soft vanilla ice cream with choc sauce and sprinkles.
Great for a night out when you can't deal with finding a babysitter. Not cheap - adult mains are ~$35. Dying to try to Ostrich but a bit pricey at $45. But you won't leave hungy and they have specials to look out for ( all you can eat ribs - check which night).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serengeti Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Browns Bay, Auckland Region
 

Been to Serengeti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing