We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“local place friendly and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavern

Tavern
Ranked #8 of 59 Restaurants in Monroe
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“local place friendly and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We ate outside staff friendly and service great! we had blueberry wings delicious and sandwich was tasty. Very good bar food nice variety and different beers als would recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cath430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Owner at Tavern, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Cath,
Thank you for your recommendation! We are glad that you loved our blueberry wings as well as the rest of your meals. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    43
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant atomosphere,Fine food, Relaxing Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

During the cold months, the gas fire will be on and that makes for a very rustic setting. Tavern like setting in front room. Dining area in rear. Enjoyable for any event. Good selection of beverages. Trendy menu and decent food- sandwiches, burgers, apps... Bar staff very nice. Have not been but happy hour until 7PM which is nice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Owner at Tavern, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear MO G,
Thanks for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed the selection and the ambiance. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
“Great dessert and bar area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently tried the Tavern for the first time and ordered some drinks and dessert. Both the presentation of the food and the taste was excellent! This place has gotten mixed reviews, but I'd recommend this restaurant for anyone that's looking for something new in the area. The decorative atmosphere was tasteful, and the staff was very friendly. We want to go back soon to experience their full menu!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annalise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Owner at Tavern, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Annalise- We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for your business and for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A recent arrival in the area becomes a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I the past few years, this building has housed several different food venues, from Mexican to American chic, Tavern has clearly brought culinary expertise on a special level. Their menu is diverse yet simple and unique, thanks to their executive chef Milton Curillo. They have brought the taste of a couple other successful CT restaurant's to Tavern, those being The Cookhouse in New Milford and The Inn at Newtown, an upscale eatery in the shadow of the town's famous flagpole. Tavern's menu will surely offer something hard to find in this area of CT.

I had the pleasure of dining at Tavern with family earlier this week, enjoying their Blackened Mahi sandwich and a sampling of their Dublin Dip, a pleasant sandwich featuring guiness braised beef with cheese au jus. Having just returned from a couple months in the Keys, I can say that their quality and presentation of my meal was on a par with the better grills on the Gulf.

They offer meals ranging from $12-20, and their kids meals menu is a consistent $7. The atmosphere is one of bar and grill, but clean and spacious enough to dine out of site of the bar area. Their appetizers and meals can be enjoyed with a significant variety of beers and specialty drinks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Owner at Tavern, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Rick- We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Blackened Mahi sandwich and the Dublin Dip! Thank you for your business. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
142 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Bar and comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We sat at the bar to enjoy their cocktails and the NCAA games. The bartender was nice and fast. I ordered Mahi Mahi tacos and they were delicious. The space at the bar area is spacious. I really enjoy the night.

Helpful?
Thank AkirePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Owner at Tavern, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear AkirePR,
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your night and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing