We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Rundown, Kind of Dirty, But Safe and Simple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Milford
jwost
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Rundown, Kind of Dirty, But Safe and Simple”
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed here for a few nights - got a great rate, so can't complain about the price. The hotel in general is dingy and rundown, but don't get quite the sense of the filth that some of the past reviews report. The elevator does smell truly bad.

Room was decent, definitely not cleaned great, lots of hairs in the bathroom, weird splatters on walls. Ultimately was okay though, just worn, worn furniture, cigarette burns (even though it was a non-smoking room, mold in fridge. Free wifi mostly worked, with a few temporary hiccups. It did, however, feel quite safe. Continental breakfast not special at all but decent.

Ultimately, I might try somewhere else in this price range first, but it was okay in a pinch. If you are looking for a nice stay and are going to spend some time in the room, I would try elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    78
    80
    168
See reviews for
147
97
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I travel to this area quite often and always stay at Ho Jo's when it is at all feasible. The rooms are roomy and comfortable. I stay upstairs in the executive section which includes a desk and additional phone. There is also a microwave and refrigerator in these rooms. There is a free breakfast offered in the lobby each morning. The cost is very reasonable and the hotel is located in a very good location. CT Limo drops off and picks up in their parking lot. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and several others within walking distance. Shopping is nearby also. The hotel has a swimming pool that I use as much as is possible with my schedule. The main reason I stay in this hotel is that it is affordable and clean but mainly I feel very safe there (since I am a woman traveling alone).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalconVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Great facilities, very clean, friendly service and tremendous value!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Excellent value for business traveler on a budget. Continental breakfast, free wi-fi, good size room with King Bed with desk, microwave and fridge all for under $60.00. Staff was pleasant and helpful, rooms were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rttraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stay was very pleasant, staff helpful. The price was great compared with more expensive hotels in the area. The indoor pool is great, restaurants and entertainment nearby. Location off I95 easy to get to local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

The motel had a musty smell, a meager appearance and the room was the same. We only stayed one evening but I wouldn't stay for more than one night. The price was only 60 bucks, so what more can you expect? (however, when I stayed the second night in an "off brand" motel in New london, which was 10 bucks more, it had no smells and atleast slightly updated, with a kitchenette). My 10 year old did not like it at all. The front desk man was pleasant and helpful, an the continental breakfast was cool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clong2298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milford hotels

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Despite negative review on Expedia, we would recommend this hotel as a decent, inexpensive hotel for the area. Central to our visit in Bridgeport and Shelton, Ct. Room was clean, we had new towels, and air conditioner was quiet. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milford hotels
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#6 of 13 in Milford
305 reviews
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Milford
Motel 6 Milford
#8 of 13 in Milford
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
Address: 1052 Boston Post Rd # I-95, Milford, CT 06460-3543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven 1.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Milford Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing