We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Milford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Comfy bed, AC worked well, and bathroom was clean and stocked. Giant gravel pit out back is interesting and did not affect stay. Did not use pool but it looked good. Great check-in and lots of close by shops/restaurants. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    49
    72
    71
    155
See reviews for
130
91
61
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was given a non smoking room that reeked of smoke. The hallway was hot and dirty and the woman at the desk was very blah and seemed like she wanted to be anywhere else then there. The blankets were from the 70's. The ac and tv were the only good things about this place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGTOM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milford hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I do not even need to stay at this hotel in order to warn travelers not to stay here. Having lived in the area, I can tell you this hotel has always had a shady reputation. I would never consider this a safe hotel to stay at.
Just about every review mentions how horrible the inside of the hotel is. If that is not enough to make you stay somewhere else, maybe some comments about the conditions outside of the hotel.
This hotel is located a stones throw just off of i-95. It's on a heavily traveled road at a major intersection. The diner it's next too is one of busiest and weekend nights between 2-3 am it's packed. The hotel is located next to one of the scummiest Friendly's restaurants. But, the worst noise maker of all is the fact that there is a gravel company literally sharing the same property of the hotel. As i write this I'm sitting across from the hotel in a Firestone car repair center and all I have seen since 7am are bulldozers and dump trucks moving gravel. Who mines gravel behind a hotel!?!?
My advice to any traveler driving along the i95 corridor is to keep driving. There are plenty of other exits with hotels. Take rt 8 up to Trumbull or Shelton and you'll be in a much much better place with clean hotels and nice restaurants too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CTSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room was old and dingy. Appliances grossly outdated. Was happy to hear there was a hot tub on property. Disgusted to find in green and unsuabke.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I don't expect hotels in this price range to be "exceptional" but the walls are so thin, it seems people in nearby rooms were sitting on the end of our bed as their conversations were so clear. The other major thing is when we booked it, clearly it included a fridge and microwave. There was a safe in the room and nothing else. Also, one towel for a king room was a bit ridiculous when we booked it for two people.

Yes, it's rundown and needs lots of work but it was REASONABLY clean. Enough to just sleep for the night, and that's it. The staff was quite friendly, though, so they get 5 starts. The indoor pool is nice, but it's like swimming in a bath tub. (I don't even want to think about what might have been living and breeding in there!) The sauna was out of order and didn't try the hot tub or whatever that was in the corner but in all honesty, I think you could do better if you just checked out a few more hotels along that same strip. One other thing I noticed is the hallways were so incredibly dark and dingy!

Sorry HoJo's, you really fell short in Milford, CT. I'm not a review person, but I hope this helps someone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonMYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is really run down. The elevator floor was uneven with buttons missing. The wall had holes and things growing on it. The bathroom also had signs of mold and mildew growth. The sheets had stains and the comforter had cigarette burned holes. When we checked into our room we realized that we had only one towel. The desk person told us they would have towels sent up. Two hours later and it was bedtime, we still had no towels. In the morning I showered, dressed, and went down to get a towel at the desk for my husband and was told the staff wouldn't be coming in until 8:00. She gave me pool towels. The staff at the hotel was very nice, but the conditions in this hotel are atrocious!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

this place is filthy. the rugs, furniture were nothing but stains. our blanket had holes in it. there was no alarm clock or hair dryer in the room. the place smelled of cigarette smoke. the indoor pool is in a separate building so you had to go outside to go inside. all stairs so its not wheelchair accessible. this place should be torn down

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milford hotels
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
2.5 mi away
Motel 6 Milford
Motel 6 Milford
#8 of 13 in Milford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
Address: 1052 Boston Post Rd # I-95, Milford, CT 06460-3543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven 1.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Milford Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing