We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 rooms: no wi-fi, no phone in one, bad odor in other, 2...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Absolutely gross!!! we came all the way from the west coast for a wedding and we were utterly shocked at what we saw when we arrived at this shall I say dump. place smelled of mildew. Got to the 4th floor and it heavily smelled of cigarettes. We go into the room and it wreaked of cigarettes which is suppose to be non smoking. Floors were sticky with cigarette holes all over, furniture needed updated as well as bedding which was dirty and had cigarette burns too. There was vomit under the desk, windows were dirty, out on the balcony there was dirty underwear and a trash can with vomit in it, a dirty wash cloth and no clean towels, nasty old fridge was rusted with about 3in of ice on it, curtains had burn holes and they were shredded. We felt dirty and even broke out in hives. We left and stayed at the Hilton garden inn. DO NOT STAY HERE! Needs to be demolished.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmwil37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Denisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in room 213 and 215 the weekend of 7/19 and I cannot believe the horrendous service. No refrigerator in the rooms, the pool looked murky and not clean at all. The people staying at this hotel WOW.... I believe that this hotel caters to welfare recipients as all you saw where ghetto families hanging out everywhere. I must say I used to stay at Howard Johnsons in the 80's and the décor has never been upgraded. It is a horrible place to take your children and the staff was not friendly at all. When we went to check out the pool with the kids a staff member stopped us and asked if we were staying there and explained that he was checking to see that outside people were not coming in. There is definitely a security problem the facility is not gated so yes anyone is welcomed. I had to go buy Clorox clean up at the local pharmacy to disinfect the bathrooms so that my kids could shower. I will never go back there again!
M.S., Queens, NY

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get good quality and comfort elsewhere Do not stay at this Welfare hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AYERIM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mounta
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milford hotels
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#6 of 13 in Milford
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Milford
Motel 6 Milford
#8 of 13 in Milford
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven

Address: 1052 Boston Post Rd # I-95, Milford, CT 06460-3543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: $66 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven 1.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Milford Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing