We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously need to update rooms!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Milford
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Milford
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seriously need to update rooms!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel based on the location (the convenience to Route 95) and the fact that it was a Hampton Inn. While the staff was nice and the breakfast the next day was average for a Hampton Inn, the sleeping rooms here need to get a serious overhaul. When we first walked into our room, we could see that the room was older, but a few things totally turned us off. The floor was buckling in a couple of places. There was no closet in the room; rather, a small inexpensive wardrobe that had a seriously rusted pole inside it with an ironing board and iron. The bathroom vanity was worn and chipped. The curtains had several holes in it. Finally, the mattress and pillows were not up to the standard of other Hampton Inns.


The lobby downstairs was updated within the last five years, and the staff was very nice, but I will not stay there again because of the condition of the sleeping room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKevin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Milford, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for being candid and sharing your thoughts. It helps the property when we have guests give us feedback. The staff appreciates your positive and constructive feedback. Although we wish we could increase the size of the rooms we are unable to change the dimensions. Our Housekeeping and Enginering Team work hard to ensure you have a clean confortable room for You. Thank you again for your constructive feed back.

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    208
    129
    64
    31
See reviews for
201
178
64
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is right on I-95 and it sounded like the traffic was coming right through the room. Kept me awake all night. The furniture was shabby and beat up. The bathroom was old, like out of the 1980s.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. It is right off the highway and has free parking. The staff is very nice and the free breakfast was def a plus. Some people complained about the noise but we were fine it might have been where our room was situated

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meghanl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The staff at this hotel make it a wonderful place to stay. The free breakfast has hot items and everything is always refreshed by the friendly staff. Front desk was very helpful. The only negative is that they have smoking rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel located between Bridgeport and New Haven Connecticut, in Milford, offers two strong staying points! First it is easy driving distance from area activities due to I-95 and merritt/Wilbur Cross Parkway access. Add to this a lower cost per night then either city's hotel rates. Quiet & affordable! Ask for a room on the parking lot side to avoid the cars passing noise on I-95.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway Township, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Love Hamptons, this one had very pleasant staff, but DONT get a room adjacent to 1-95 if noise keeps you awake, because the traffic/tractor trailers run all night long and are quite loud. One side of the property sits on I-95; the back side I expect is much quieter. Live and learn! Air conditioning unit was so noisy we had to turn it off, and kids in the hotel slammed doors all night long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lynnette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKevin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Milford, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Lynnette thank you for feedback. We appreciate your thoughts very much. Your response is well taken and considered for future guests that may have the same concern. As a hotel along a highway we have the same obstacles to overcome as a hotel near an airport or in a big city. We often times have guests that prefer the highway side of the hotel. We will always try to accommodate our guests with a preference at our hotel for either side of the hotel. It is very common for us to get specific requests for a room type and location. We invite you to return to the property with your specific requests. Thank you again for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently. The service we get for the price we pay as fabulous. I have recommended this hotel to dozens of friends who have visited from out of town. They have all enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milford hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Milford
Residence Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Milford

Property: Hampton Inn Milford
Address: 129 Plains Rd, Milford, CT 06461-2542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Milford
#5 Business Hotel in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Milford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Milford, an inlet for culture, business, history, and entertainment. You'll find the historic and charming seaside town of Milford offers dozens of activities for business travelers, families, and groups. Many of the town's most popular destinations are just minutes from the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Milford. Set sail on Long Island Sound and navigate through the coves and islands that Captain Kidd sailed in 1699. While you're here you'll be near Yale University, University of Bridgeport, Sacred Heart University, University of New Haven, and Southern Connecticut State University. When you're looking for entertainment and nightlife the area features many opportunities from off Broadway shows to live concerts. Take a train into NYC on Metro North. The hotel is 1 mile from the train station. Looking for something to do in the area? Our staff will be glad to help guide you to your next destination for adventure all just a short drive from the Hampton Inn Milford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing