We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically a very good bet for basic Italian American food”

Fratelli's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 252 Restaurants in Milford
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Shelton ct.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basically a very good bet for basic Italian American food”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nothing exotic or noveau Italian but some of the basic Italian dishes done well. Large portons, good family style service and very reasonable prices You won't be wowed or dissapointed either.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoefromShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian done right”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very good italian food. A must have if you are in the greater New haven area.....recommend a reservation

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, MA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always good quality”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This restaurant is consistently good. I have dined there 7-8 times and it has always been good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tgj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian with capital letters”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you want large portions this is the place. Unfortunately large does not mean good.

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations every time”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband and I dined at Nello's pretty frequently when we lived in Milford. Since we moved to central CT almost 4 years ago, we still make the tripdown just for Nello's. Yes, the restaurant is small, but it has charm and character-very cozy. I'd suggest a reservation if you're dining on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday evening. The waitstaff has always been friendly, professional and attentive. Food does take a little longer to come out, but it's worth it as it IS made to order and always fresh. In fact, they did away with a pasta dish my husband used to order, but they'll still make it upon request. Broccoli bread is fanstastic, as is the regular bread they bring out warm with butter-and they're always happy to refill when you need another. The house balsamic gorgonzola is by far the BEST dressing I've ever had. Even if you're not into salad, this dressing will make you clean your plate. I highly reccommend visiting on a pasta special night and ordering the ravioli.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratelli's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fratelli's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing