We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrogant owner, decent food, pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Basque

Bistro Basque
Ranked #10 of 248 Restaurants in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Arrogant owner, decent food, pricey”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Dressed like a laborer, the owner seated us in a near-empty dark dining room for lunch...I was not very comfortable with this, our first and likely last, visit. He pretty much talked us out of all our selections in favor of his. The food was okay but not great, with small portions and large prices. Not a do-over.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    41
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow Service...and Feeling Forgotten”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Slow Service…and Forgotten and over Priced
We went to this place for our 22nd anniversary, we informed our waiter.
We thought our waiter was giving up space and not rushing us. We waited 20 minutes for Drinks
Once we order we wait 1 hour for our dinner, even asking many times. We were visited by the owner, which we were told they we short of staff.
My meal was So..So. I could not recommend to anyone. This is hard for me because I’m a local.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lookoutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Clarendon, Vermont
Level Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss it in Milford!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We only get to Milford once a year on business, but the trip wouldn't be complete without a visit to Bistro Basque. We love this place! All the tapas we have tried were simply wonderful, and the suggested wine pairings were spot on. It was a balmy May evening, perfect for sitting in the outdoor patio, and even though the place was hopping, the owner went out of his way to get us a table outside. Now that's the kind of customer service you don't see much of these days!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
1 review
“A good place to visit in Milford”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I love Bistro Basque for several reasons. The atmosphere is very pleasant, service is impeccable and having the choice of so many tapas is great. I love them all. Also, you can just drop in for a drink at the bar while in town.
Keep up the good work.

Hedwige

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paris1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“D-”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Food poisoning here on my second visit. An immediate and violent reaction to a small tuna plate was reported to the waiter who was also one of the owners. He stated there was nothing wrong with the tuna and that it had been purchased that day. We only let him know because we wanted to save some other unwary person the experience of vomiting and diarhhea. He was quite ungracious and took the plate off the bill We left the price of the plate anyway to illustrate that we were certainly not looking to have the bill reduced. Initially excited to have a small plates restaurant in Milford, but would not go back after that incident.

Helpful?
Thank deb33838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Basque also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Basque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing