We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value in the New Haven Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Value in the New Haven Area”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are visiting New Haven and don't need to be right downtown, this choice just off Exit 40 of the Connecticut Turnpike is a great value. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and a full breakfast is included. My wife and I enjoyed our stay when we were in the New Haven area, visiting family and old friends.

Room Tip: Pretty much any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesGies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    140
    39
    16
    12
See reviews for
138
87
34
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just came back from staying their this weekend; 1st room we checked into was clean and look presentable. Went to take a shower at 11pmish and the entire curtain rod fell completely off the wall. Thankfully it missed my head but it did hurt a little falling. Immediately went to front desk and explained what happened; was told this has happened before and they immediately gave us a new room next store. Mr. Walter was a great guy who was very helpful. (works nites i guess) Make sure to ask for menus to restaurant in area that will deliver to hotel; helps late at night if u get hungry and do not want to drive. Did not try the galley menu partly due to high prices for items and small portions you receive. Was disappointed the whirlpool spa was not opened due to ceiling collapsing months earlier; this should be posted on website or guests should be made aware upon check-in. Some of the channels on tv did not come in but the couch was very comfortable. Would definetly try another hyatt place when looking for a hotel.

Room Tip: Ice machines are located on 3rd and 5th floors. AVoid those floors and everything should be quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and stay only complaint is the walls are kind thin so I could hear when people ran up and down ye hall and slammed the bathroom doors :/ but still a great hotel and beautiful rooms!! Deff will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cha2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I am fast becoming a Hyatt place follower.
This stay was no different
The front desk was more than usually helpful( Jordan)
I remain pleased by the fresh fruit at breakfast. This is the best "motel" breakfast I have come address. I love having a fridge and good TV.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarawelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Can I just say that CT is beautiful? Anyhow - we were at the start of our vacation and this was our first overnight stay. Our first night ended up being our best sleep yet. The hotel room was gorgeous...the layout and amenities in the room was fantastic. The bed was super comfortable and my fiancee had to be talked out of stealing the pillows! LOL. We were on the ground floor close to the lobby and the the lobby was full of people who seemed to be on a hockey tournament trip or something...and while in our room - we didn't hear them at all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

What I like most about this hotel is all the rooms are suite size. This property has extra large rooms. A King room comes with a bar and sink area with minifridge, desk, corner couch with pullout, large TV, a slightly separated bedroom with a comfortable bed, a large counter and sink area for the bathroom, and a closet. I really liked the way the room was set up and the large living space. They even included nice things like a cordless phone, and a throw blanket. The outlets by the bedside were unusable because the nightstand was bolted to the wall and covered the outlet, so I couldn't charge my phone next to the bed. The rooms were like-new and nice. The TV didn't have very many channels.

I tried 5 different foods on the menu plus breakfast during my stay and the food was nothing special at all. They were also out of a menu item I wanted and didn't let me know until the other item I ordered was ready. I wouldn't order off the menu if I stayed again.

Check-in was great! The front desk staff was excellent and this was the first hotel where I was offered a quick tour. I was impressed. The whirlpool didn't work during my stay, and because of this the fire alarm went off for about 20 minutes during the malfunction. Inside the room you could hear people travelling out from the stairs, talking, walking, and housekeeping vacuuming in nearby rooms. The location is convenient and there are a lot of restaurants nearby and a mall right around the corner, also easy-on/off to I-95.

Overall this is a great hotel and I would return if in the area, it is a good value.

Room Tip: front facing rooms nothing special view-wise, top floor nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the hotel to get off the snow covered roads. The room was fine and the staff was friendly but we left our dogs in the car to avoid the $200 pet fee and were then charged the fee anyway when the manager saw us walking our dogs in the morning. No one said anything to us while we were there but I noticed the charge on our credit card was higher than expected and when we called both the hotel and Hyatt Gold Passport customer service they could not issue a credit because the manager refuses to do so and Hyatt customer service can not override this. I was also overcharged $540 at another Hyatt Place in PA for a night I was not there (now being corrected). Overall poor customer service - we will never stay in another Hyatt again thanks to these two bad experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MK713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Milford
Residence Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
183 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven

Property: Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Address: 190 Old Gate Ln, Milford, CT 06460-3651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Milford, CT is a BRAND NEW All Suite Hotel only 7 minutes away from downtown New Haven and Yale University. Hyatt Place Milford features All Suite Rooms that feature a 42 Inch Plasma TV, Hyatt Grand Bed, 300 Thread Count Sheeting, Wet Bar, Cozy Corner Couch, and work desk with Cordless Telephone. Hotel serves a Complimentary Hot Skillet Breakfast Buffet DAILY!! Hyatt Place Milford has a 24 Hour Starbucks and a Premium Bar onsite. Our Hyatt Gallery Cafe serves food from 6:30am thru 11pm everyday. Hotel amenities include a 24 Hour Fitness Room, Indoor Heated Spa, and a business center. Free WIFI Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Milford Hotel Milford
Hyatt Milford
Milford Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing