We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving , but don't let that stop you.”
Review of Armellino's Fine Italian Rstrn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Armellino's Fine Italian Rstrn
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving , but don't let that stop you.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The exterior lacks curb appeal, and the interior decor is dated but, the food makes up for the lack of atmosphere. The portions are generous, the prices are reasonable, and the flavored authentic. When back I'm the area, this place will be a staple. Didn't try, and probably will never try the outdoor patio, located in the parking lot ( if you go, you'll understand).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alps110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food was fantastic”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Fantastic food, super friendly service. slow through meal process but worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Used to be great, in need of a makeover”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I have been to Armellino's many, many times over the past 5 years or so. It used to be great. The place was so packed you'd need a reservation on a weekend. We went back his past weekend on a Saturday night and I think there were maybe 3 other tables with customers (out of 20-25 or so). The rolls were stale. We ordered mussels as an appetizer, they came up very rubbery and chewy, probably not so fresh. The main courses (her's was a calamari and scungilli combo, mine chicken parm), were better. My chicken parm was average, her dinner was quite good. Prices are too high for the food quality. I'm happy to pay if the food is good.

The aesthetics in the restaurant aren't very good, the lights were very dim, I think it was to hide the crud in between the floor tiles. The whole place just needs updating. This restaurant is a prime candidate for one of those TV makeover shows to come in and fix up. Not horrible, but not a favorite like it once was.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elb0
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Classic Italian”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Armellino's offers a nice selections of specials in addition to their standard menu. I especially like the muscles. Nicely done! The dining room is comfortable, but don't shy away from dining at the bar where the staff is intentive and freindly. Most important of all, I haven't had a dish yet that didn't cause me to want a second helping.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Just okay, smelled kind of musty and the food took a long time and was just average.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armellino's Fine Italian Rstrn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing