We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biking around”

Silver Sands State Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Biking around”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice beach. At high tide you can fish from the pier. 2 entrances and you can bike from one side to the other (but not on the boardwalk). You are allowed to bike on the old service road. It was peaceful and we saw lots of wildlife such as deer, rabbits, finch, swallows, etc. We parked our bikes and walked the beach finding lots of shells.

Helpful?
Thank JennyButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    122
    43
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If from an Ocean community”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This beach is located on LOng Island sound. It does not have a sandy beach, and no waves. Being from the coast of Maine, we were not impressed with this location

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank YBMOODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Free parking, nice location, mediocre beach”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It's free. There are porta-potties. The beach, as many note, is full of shells. The boardwalk is great, and historic Charles Island is right there. It's quiet, perhaps because there are multiple areas to explore and the parking, though large, is not too big. There is a small parking area at the far end of the main entrance -- several handicapped spots but also a few regular spots. The beach is steps away. Not sure if this is okay, but I also drop my kayak off in the circle, then park in the main lot since the small lot is usually full. Then bring the boat to the other side of the jetty since you can't launch in the swim area. No one has hassled me about this. All in all, I do recommend the beach -- where else can you access a beach with no fee?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, IL
Level Contributor
228 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Free parking & admission”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The best thing about Silver Sands was that it was completely free. But you get what you pay for. We didn't mind the long walk in from the parking lot, but a bathhouse would have helped. The lifeguards were friendly, but made sure we didn't walk out to the island because the tide was coming in. If you go, take everything you'll need for the day with you.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bearded_bard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Quiet park, good to let the dogs out and go for a walk along the boardwalk, swim and a picnic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Sands State Park also viewed

 

Been to Silver Sands State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing