We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy place, indifferent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Milford/New Haven
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed one night at this motel & it was the worst experience we had in the last 6 weeks of travelling around the States & Canada. If it wasn't for the fact that it was after 9pm and we had been looking for someplace to stay for the past hour we would have moved on.
One of the towels in the bathroom had obviously been used, there was several large chunks of black hair in the bath The beds were very badly made up, I remade & doubled up the sheets from the other bed so we had more clean protection from the mattress & pillows. After wearing my socks for just half an hour on the room carpet they were filthy & BLACK!, I subsequently threw them away.
A rat or some other creature came into our room during the night from under the door I guess as there was about a 2 inch gap there & took some cookies off our table & ate them, & in the morning when we complained to the manager about the mouse running around the breakfast room he wasn't really very interested! The breakfast room was dirty & I had to ask to have a table wiped before I could sit at it, and this was done with a VERY dirty cloth & very bad grace by the man who swept the paths outside! I felt so dirty after staying there. Lights nearly falling off the wall, I felt afraid to touch them in case they were dangerous.
In summary a disgusting & horrible experience.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ennylnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Milford/New Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

My husband & I travel a lot and I will never stay at another Super 8. The front desk clerk was rude and snippy. The bathroom in the first room was filthy. We asked for a second and were given one that stunk from mold. The clerk kept saying “It’s not our fault”, “It’s not our problem”. I would think dirty and smelly rooms should be the problem of the management of a motel. The third room was acceptable only because it was too late to book anywhere else. It had a coffee machine and no pot (as did the other rooms); a tangle of wires hanging behind a table; a barely working tv; burnt out light bulbs; mold in the bathroom; fire alarm hanging off it’s ceiling mount (posed a problem with all the wires). I’m glad I had Lysol wipes to clean off the hair dryer, sink and toilet. Super 8 really isn’t all that super and we’ll be passing them real fast in the future.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank junenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GYPSYArlington, Front Desk Manager at Super 8 Milford/New Haven, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2008

The review has been written in very bad taste and the reasons for the same are as follows:

Allegation 1: Coffee machine had no pots

To be fair to the guest we will assume that this was true, but then they could have called the front desk as things like remote, coffee pots, iron are sundry items which are always in stock and can be given to the guest even in the middle of the night.

Allegation 2: tangle of wires
I have checked every hotel and lamps by the bedside and alarm clocks are all plugged in to the closest outlet. In this case the wires were behind the bureau, and we fauil to understand how can wires which are behind the bureaus and out of view bother someone. We have to ask these question, what was the motive fot the guest to move tbhe bureau an take pictures of the wires ?

Allegation 3: Barely working TV
What is a "barely working" TV. As far as I knoww the TV either works or it does not work

Allegation 3: Dim bulb.
If you closely observe the picture, the lights by the bedside are double headed, where you can turn one light on at a time. The guest has turned one light on and then taken the picture, giving the impression as if the other light did not work. Also the lights by the bedisde are essentially are not meant to light up the whole room, they are supposed to have lower lumen than a regular room light as in case a guest wants to turn on one of the bed lights it would not bother the other person.

Allegation 4: Mold in bathroom
As guests take hot showers, wallpaper has a tendency to start peeling off after a while. In this case the wallpaper has only slightly peeled off near a tile and the guest wants to create a false impression of mold in the bathroom.

All said and done we would welcome any comments that will draw our attention to shortcomings from our side that needs to be coorrected, but any false and malicicious coomments cannot be tolerated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

It is a low price motel next to the highwy ( 95 ) but it was fine..Pretty clean and quite for one Friday night.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randy4cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights never again will we stay at Super 8, when we arrived they could not find our reservation but used our print-out to see who we were. It wasn't very clean no plug in wash basin toilet difficult to flush. Also was not very keen on stuffed dog at front desk. A & H Wright England.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank broompark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

We stay in (h)motels approximately 20 weekends a year. We have never had to check out on Saturday & find another place to stay, until this one.

When we first pulled in our son said "Hey, we're in the ghetto!" and this was the best part of our stay. I should have known to leave when the person checking in before us was paying by the hour.
The initial room had partying people at our window blowing smoke into our non-smoking room via the a/c. We asked for another room & they moved us 3 rooms down; however those partying had both rooms between so it didn't matter much. Both rooms had an unpleasant smell and were pretty cheapily decorated. The second room lacked a bathroom light that worked and was pretty dirty (we kept our shoes on). The partying went on ALL NIGHT LONG despite the front desks' assurances they would get them to stop. In the morning we realized that our door would not lock when we left (nor close tightly). After being up all night that was the last straw and we told them we were checking out. But since we had to be at the track by 7am they told us just to come later to get our things (which were unfortunately left in the open room, but were left unscathed). When we returned in the afternoon we were told we'd have to pay for Saturday night (not the story we had gotten in the morning), that "of course" the door locked (it didn't!), and then they tried to overcharge us $20 above what we had reserved it for.

We went to the Marriott 2 exits down (for very little more) and it was PARADISE. We will never, ever stay in another Super 8 (we even cancelled our reservations in one for the following weekend).

This is my first hotel review, despite staying in them frequently because others need to know. I wish I could do it on the other sites like Orbitz, Travelocity, etc. because it was BAD.

BAD, BAD, BAD.

3  Thank BmxFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank Housi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8milford, Manager at Super 8 Milford/New Haven, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milford hotels
2.5 mi away
Motel 6 Milford
Motel 6 Milford
#8 of 13 in Milford
210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#6 of 13 in Milford
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
713 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Milford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Milford/New Haven

Address: 1015 Boston Post Rd, Milford, CT 06460-3533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: $77 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Milford/New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Milford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Milford/New Haven Hotel Milford
Milford Super 8
Milford Super Eight
Super Eight Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing