We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”
Review of Motel 6 Milford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Milford
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Milford as a stopover on our way to PA. Perhaps we should have taken the sign welcoming no less than 4 high school wrestling teams as a warning, or maybe the extra tables set up for breakfast should have been a tipoff, or even the dirty athletic sock that was on the check-in counter (my husband had the pleasure of moving it so that he could sign for the room) should have been enough for us to think twice about staying here. It was unfortunate - the front desk staff was very pleasant, the room clean and attractive - but the noise and the running up and down the halls all night was awful.

Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse...when we tried to go to the breakfast area in the morning we were met with dozens of students everywhere and there was no food left (this was before 8 a.m.) The poor woman who was supposed to maintain and stock the area was in a daze. It looked as if a tornado had gone through the place.

We were very disppointed. There should have been some organization or arrangements made so that the guests could also have breakfast.

If I ever consider this hotel again I will call ahead to make sure they haven't booked a large group.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pecunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Motel 6 Milford, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I want to apologize for the experience you had at our property. This particular weekend is not the norm for the hotel; though we do host youth and college sports teams on occasion. My team and I work diligently to prepare for these groups, most specifically the extra traffic we sometimes get during breakfast. The reason we provide the additional seating is to accommodate for teams and we encourage them to use this additional seating area as opposed to the breakfast room. When we host multiple schools, most times we can easily coordinate staggered times for the teams to eat during breakfast hours so as not to overwhelm the area. Unfortunately, due to the match schedule and other factors specific to this event we were unable to accomplish this during your stay.
I certainly feel additional staff in the breakfast area, as well as in the evening could have helped managed the flow of guests in the breakfast area, as well as later in the guest corridors. We will certainly take this additional measure should we encounter similar circumstances in the future.

I would like you to contact me directly if and when you are planning a return to our area, so I can arrange accommodations for you. My staff and I look forward to providing a positive and memorable customer experience.
I am available to discuss this further at your convenience.

Thank you again for your comments.

Paul Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 216 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Reservation made earlier in the day online. Registration was quick. Room lock deadbolt needed my wife to explain how to use the handle inside to make it retract. When we left it was not possible to close the door due to the deadbolt not retracting. The manager looked at it and said it needed a spring. Quick service on this item. Second item was the in wall heater/ AC. Set to heat at 70 degrees thermostat worked but occasionally the fan would whine so loud it woke me up 2x. Breakfast was included and standard Fairfield inn faire. Got the AAA rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okrent3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed her one night on a Marriott gift card. The hotel is located very close to I95, so it's perfect if you're traveling by. The rooms are fine, very average but clean. The best part of this hotel is the breakfast. It includes all of the standard juices and cereals but included fixings(nuts, fruit & brown sugar) for hot oatmeal. There were hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage & make your own waffles. It made for a very pleasant start for the day!

Room Tip: we usually get a king room but they were all booked so we ended up with 2 beds because the single be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daydreamer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night. The staff was very helpful. The hotel had a gas card promotion. One night stay gave you a $25 gas card. Nice buffet breakfast in morning with yummy chocolate chip cookies at check-in. There is a CVS down the street from the hotel & a quaint downtown area about a 10 drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We picked this hotel for the Marriott name and the very reasonable rates. We were visiting my terminally ill mother. Everything met our expectations and when the staff discovered that my mother had passed away, flowers were sent to our room and accommodations were made to extend our visit as well as find an additional room for my visiting adult children. Without asking, we were given the bereavement rate.
From the housekeeping staff to the breakfast attendant to the the front office staff, we could not have been treated any more courteously or professionally. General manager Paul Williamson is to be commended. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Motel 6 Milford, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words. We were so happy to be of service during a difficult time. We look forward to seeing you under happier circumstances in the near future!

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is why the bigger names like Marriott are successful. This is an inexpensive option compared to other hotels but they do not skimp on service or cleanliness. i have had to stay in this hotel a lot for business trips and I am satisfied each time I stay. It really is like a home away from home. I would definatley recommend for travelers just needing to stay a couple nights. the location to restuarants and stores is also great. If you stay here make your way to the restaurants that Fairfield recommends on the print out at the front desk. Each place was better than the next.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyjean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived late without booking - easily settled in. This Marriott establishment was indiscernable from Best Western both in layout and breakfast. Good service and value. Front desk guy was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford - New Haven
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
9.3 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Milford

Address: 111 Schoolhouse Rd, Milford, CT 06460-3002 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Milford)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Milford
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Milford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Milford CT is located off I-95 exit 35. Silver Sands State Park Beach and Walnut Public Beach are 1.2 miles away. All smoke-free rooms have micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi. Enjoy our business center, fitness facility and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Milford Hotel Milford
Fairfield Milford
Milford Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing