We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel, conveniently located near New Haven, with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I combined a business trip on Friday Oct. 2 and a Lafayette-Yale football game at the Yale Bowl. Nice new hotel (opened March 18, 2009) located right off I-95 exit 40, but far enough away from highway you dont hear anything. Traditional Hilton Garden Inn with indoor pool and on-premise restaurant which I had a nice filling breakfast before heading to the yale Bowl in West Haven, CT. Best of all Lafayette beat Yale in football for the first time ever (in 8 tries dating back to 1912), 31-14. So a good trip indeed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjdewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 639 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

I only stayed for one night. When I arrived, there was (literally) no one at the front desk. Well...there was one other guest ahead of me.

No Bell.
No Camera.
No Front Desk Person.

I stood for a few minutes and though the attendant was tardy, she was also friendly.

The room is what you would expect from an HGI - nothing especially luxe, but very comfortable. The hotel is situated right off the interstate - you access it through the same road as you would a Lowes hardware store. There are a few restaurants nearby, a truck stop and a few gas stations.

Breakfast, while also nothing too variant from other HGI's, was met with more inattentive staff. I was told that I could sit wherever I wanted (which was easy since no one else was there).

There was also no chef (they usually make omelets, waffles, etc to order).
I was not asked if I wanted coffee.
I was only approached around 7 minutes after I sat down.

Altogether, this was not a very great or consistent experience with a Hilton Garden Inn. I don't expect top of the line treatment when I stay at one, but I expect to be acknowledged of my own existence in a room.

Would I stay again? Probably (I'm an HHonors Gold member and I'm working my way towards Diamond this year).

Would I stay on vacation? No.

There are a lot of other places in Southern CT to stay, ones that show a more consistent experience than this one...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTwilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

The Hilton Garden Inn was our choice for our stay in Milford after running scared from the HoJos. What a relief! The lobby is lovely, the grounds are well maintained and the customer service is top notch. Great prices for military/government employees and well worth it. The fitness room is well equipped, including complimentary fresh fruit! There are also free cookies at the front desk in the late afternoon/evening. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms spacious and the microwave is appreciated (except the other night there was an evacuation when someone set off the alarms by heating a corndog in its wrapper). Only cons so far.. I think the floors are thin because we could hear whoever above us stomp around, but they were also excessively noisy. Also had some minor issue with the laundry; the listed price is 1.50 but it is actually 1.75 per load of washing, another 1.75 for the dryer and also the machine is faulty (sometimes the machine won't start) however the staff assisted us in a timely manner. You have to log into WiFi once every 24 hours but it's complimentary so who's complaining. The free printing is also a major plus. Overall we're extremely happy we chose the HGI over HoJos; paid twice as much but the standard is well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zomni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Hilton Garden Inn Milford is a brand new property just off I-95. I stayed there for one night on my way from upstate New England to JFK. As always, I had booked my stay through hhonors.com.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. I was given a room on the fourth floor facing the back of the hotel.

The spacious room had the usual HGI amenities: king-size bed, flat panel TV (not HDTV, though) large working desk, ergonomic chair and an armchair with an ottoman. There was also plenty of storage space. As a positive surprise, the bathroom had a walk-in shower instead of the more usual bathtub. Everything was brand spanking new and clean.

Because the hotel is so new, there are still some kinks to iron out: the TV channels were not set up correctly (CNN, ABC, CBS and NBC were missing and many other channels were not where the channel guide said they would be), the hotel restaurant was not yet open for dinner and the staff was still learning some of the IT systems. Also the lock to my room was working less than smooth: a substantial amount of force was required to open the door. Even housekeeping had some processes to fine tune: bathroom did not have any glasses. Luckily, the coffee station in the room had some.

The breakfast was a standard HGI fare. No surprises there.

My complaints with this hotel are few. I really don't understand why a new hotel would not go for HDTV when setting up a the TV system. Poor quality analog signal looks so disappointing in a modern flat panel. Not a major issue, but a small inconvenience. Also, using a window-based HVAC unit is a bit disappointing. The noise level (I am a light sleeper) is much higher than with the wall-based units. Finally, as with all hotels, in-room safes would be nice.

Despite my small complaints, HGI Milford is a very nice HGI. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

And finally a tip to fellow travelers: if you visit the hotel, check out the different wallpapers in corridors and rooms. The interior designer has really gone all the way to choose several different patterns and textures to please the eye. Nice touch compared to many other hotels with their standard flowerish patterns.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THO_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank yetzaidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Hotel Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milford, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Pawel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milford, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Milford
Residence Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
200 reviews
6.3 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milford

Address: 291 Old Gate Ln, Milford, CT 06460-3652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Milford
Price Range: $93 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milford 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Milford Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing