We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for all appetites!”

Bridge House Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 251 Restaurants in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food for all appetites!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Interesting variety of dishes. My husband loved the salmon dish that was served with a lentel rissoto. He liked it so much he can't wait to go back. I wish I had ordered the same thing, it looked delicious. I ordered the Bridge House salad which was wonderful and more in line with the type of food I like to order. For some reason I was in the mood to try the Cuban Pannini. It was tasty, but very heavy and served with fried onion rings. Not my usual choice, since I tend toward healthier entries. But, I'm sure someone who goes for that sort of thing would have loved it. Once I removed the huge piece of ham from the sandwich and was left with just the pork, gouda, pickles and mustard dressing, it was more palettable to me. So you can order an upscale type entree or comfort food like meatloaf. Strange mixture of items and tastes. But seems all well prepared. Whatever floats your boat! I'm interested in going back and trying more of the less heavy items.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuluTheCommish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I will always recommend a restaurant that is consistent with good food. I have been dining at Bridge House Restaurant for years, and have never been disappointed. I tend to enjoy the Caesar salad with chicken for lunch - the parmesan crisp is a nice twist, and always a delight! My Son loves the Caesar salad with salmon.

Dinner favorites vary. Someone once asked about the cuisine, and the answer is, comfort food. Whether it's a chicken pot pie, or a meatloaf, or roast chicken. All dishes are wonderful.

As for décor, I love the brick walls, and the exposed wood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWF06615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality dining at the end of Milford”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The quality of the offerings here is a testimony to owner Chris Saly's standard of excellence. I remember the first time eating here at the bar about 4 years ago. The burger was a hefty slab of prime chuck expertly cooked to order, but what added to the experience was the duo of sides-house made shoestring cut buttermilk onion rings sweet, savory, crunchy, juicy and apple fennel slaw a refreshing spin on the mundane cole variety. So we returned for the Butternut squash cavatelli, Slow cooked pulled pork platter, and again for Casino Scallops, Chicken Pot Pie, and again Mussels of the day, Spinach stuffed roasted Chicken, NY Strip, Calamari two ways fried and marinated, this last offering the only dish that has declined in quality over the last year, the last two times I ordered it was disappointing because Calamari was not tender. Overall go and enjoy your dinner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
511 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service what else could you want?
Beef short rib - tender and tasty, tuna tacos - yum
St. Louis ribs- fell off the bone, fish and chips -light and crispy

Helpful?
Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to the chains”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been here several times, and I have yet to be disappointed. The food is pretty good, the wait staff friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing. If you sit in the bar area, they have televisions at each table, as well as two big ones in the bar area.

They also have a prix fix (sp?) menu which is a very good option, it includes two salads, choice of entrees, desert and a glass of wine as well. The spinach stuff chicken breast (not sure if that's what it's actually named) is delicious and my personal favorite!

Great for a date or with friends/family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAJ-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bridge House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing