We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, could use some GF Options”

First & Last Tavern
Ranked #74 of 156 Restaurants in Middletown
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great food, could use some GF Options”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Being gluten free, I stuck to the risotto which was delicious. They could really use some GF pasta or a pizza crust and they'd be all set with all of their dishes. Everything sounded amazing that I wanted to try other dishes. My boyfriend really enjoyed the soup and some of the seafood pasta dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    24
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great thin crust pizza”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are frequent visitors at First and Last Tavern in Middletown whenever my brother from California comes back to Connecticut. Their thin crust pizza is one of the best you will find in CT without having to go all the way to New Haven. They also have a great bolognese sauce and specials that include pasta, sausage, meatballs, and salad all on the same plate. Just like a true Italian household! Service is efficient, the waitstaff is friendly, and it's definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cab1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect CT
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not The Same As Hartford!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I lvoe First & Last in Hartford. I was very excited that they opened one closer to home. It is the same menu, the same sauce. It just doesn't have the same taste at all to me. I have gone to the hartford restaurant for over 20 years.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The food is great service is wonderful. never had a bad meal there the pizza is the best.the atmoshere is great

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reliable recipes that work”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is an old standby---a love affair of mine. A great lady. A hot date. Ready to please. Great Italian fair. Awesome Pizza, and Oyster Bar. Breads that tease the taste buds and service with a smile. Always busy, the turnover of product is great, making for a freshness of everything served. One can't go wrong here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank drjcrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First & Last Tavern also viewed

 

Been to First & Last Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing