We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare on Main Street” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Passport Inn & Suites Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Passport Inn & Suites Middletown
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare on Main Street”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The worst. It smelled like mold when we walked in the drab lobby. They lost our reservation. They took no responsibility this, trying to blame the booking service so they wouldnt have to pay. They were too lazy to find us another hotel. Dumb. lazy and dirty motel. Never again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredlewis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

For $51, its hard to beat. Big, clean rooms, with a microwave and a mini-fridge (and a TV and ironing-board and a hair dryer - but no coffee service). The beds very comfortable. Run by a family that lives on premises. They were very accommodating. Its been newly renovated, which may explain the difference between our experience and some of the the other reviews. There is an Indian restaurant next door, decent food for the value.

Downsides:
* The restaurant is not open for breakfast. The hotel does put out K-cup coffee and pastries. There are multiple fast-food & diner places about a mile up the road.
* There is no coffee service in the room, so if you need something to heat water in, you need to get your own cup (we borrowed one from the manager).
* Carpet glue smell in the corridor is still strong.

We would stay here again if we needed to stay in Middletown

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M_M269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed there for three nights for thanksgiving. My room was nice and big and the beds were really comfy. It is run by an Indian family. They have great service. There is an Indian restaurant near on site. If I ever come back to ct I would stay at passportinn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The upper floor where we stayed had been recently refurbished. Apparently they had a little incident with the roof collapsing under snow load. Not too worry, I'm sure it's much sturdier now! Basically, almost everything was new. Carpet, paint, TV, all very nice. Had a bit of an off smell to it, but not mold or anything, and not horrible like some cheap deodorizers. Maybe decades of Indian incense or something, that was definitely present...

Fridge and a microwave in the room, Nice tile floors, and a balcony at this price though, anywhere outside of Camden or Newark and I don't care, you're getting one heck of a deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbtVTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I had just left a concert in Hartford and were planning to go to the beach the next day, so we searched for hotels halfway between the two. The minute we stepped in, we questioned our decision because of the stale cigarette odor, the bulletproof glass protecting the clerk, and the stained carpeting down the dimly lit hallway. Because of the time of night and the fact that we really only needed a room for 8 hours, we paid and headed down the hall. Once inside the room, it only got worse. The hand towel was rougher than sandpaper, the carpet felt sticky and matted down, and the stale cigarette smell was permanently sealed into the walls. Five minutes later, we approached the man being protected by glass and asked for a refund. He gave us half our money back. We then drove a few extra miles to a Comfort Inn and had a restful night of sleep. I would advise against the Passport Inn.

Room Tip: Get a room at the Comfort Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandAni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Guilford, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I have just finished teaching here in Middletown this week, and we stayed at the Passport Inn and Suites. It has met our needs just fine! It has all the basic things we needed - king sized bed, clean bathroom, table and chair to work on, reliable WiFi, cell phone service, sofa and coffee table, TV, a large dresser, refrigerator and a microwave to make our breakfast and heat up coffee and tea water.

It is clean and well appointed, and our room even has a walk-out balcony. It was 10 minutes away from where we were teaching this week at Middlesex Community College, and only several miles from downtown Middletown, where there are more variety of restaurants, many international, that you could possible cover even in month. There is an Indian Restaurant on site of the motel, which we'll probably try next week, as we will be back for the second week as we are teaching the rest of this course and will be again staying here at the Passport Inn.

Certainly there are fancier hotels/motels in Hartford, but it would cost you at least at double the price, which is fine if that is how you want to spend your money. Also it would have been a lot more daily driving and bucking all that traffic and not nearly as convenient. The folks at the Passport are gracious, helpful, and accommodating. For us, it's been a great place to call home for a week.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunnysideSolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

I arrived late at night and had second thoughts about staying. Mattresses stacked in the hallway (that must ba a fire hazzard) bad fluorescent light, unfinished parking lot. The hotel clerk/owner wouldn't honor the price I was quoted, instead jacked it up $10 because I needed a second bed for my teenage son (the lower price was previously agreed upon when we made the reservation in the morning). The decor i the room is entirely depressing, which completes the experience. At $77 a night, not good value at all. This is worth about half that. The ONLY positive is that there is free WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanLosAngles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
2.5 mi away
Inn at Middletown
Inn at Middletown
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Cromwell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passport Inn & Suites Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn & Suites Middletown

Property: Passport Inn & Suites Middletown
Address: 1310 S Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-5026
Location: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Passport Inn & Suites Middletown 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Five Minutes from Wesleyan University, near Powder Ridge Ski area, shopping and restaurants. Refrigerators and Microwaves in rooms. Some rooms have a private balcony. We offer convenience, comfort and A Good Night's Sleep to those traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Passport Inn & Suites Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Inn & Suites Middletown Hotel Middletown
Passport Inn And Suites Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing