We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but great”
Review of Cafe 56

Cafe 56
Ranked #7 of 156 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Very new restaurant. Only opened for about one month
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but great”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

An excellent little cafe. The food was very taste with complex and subtle flavors. The prices were also excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank La_cl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everythingwasperfect!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

i went there on a saturday morning around 8. it was quiet, maybe because it just opened. the service was amazing, she was knowledgable, friendly, and warm. the food was amazing. I had the french toast, and while i thought it was weird to use croissant as the bread, but the result was perfect. it was crusty on the outside and custardy in the inside. and then i bought the scone, and it was crumbly and bread-y. it was just a perfect breakfast!

oh and the chefs personally came to us (me and my mom) and asked us if everything was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summer_fever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Promises to be a destination restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Middletown is known for its wonderful and diverse restaurants. This charming café, however, takes dining to a level that rivals and indeed surpasses ANYTHING you will find there, or West Hartford, and maybe even NYC. The chef's daily specials are beyond special; they are exquisite, revealing a finesse for flavors and freshness that makes me and my colleagues, who visit regularly, swoon. Sabrina, a native Guatemalan who traveled the world as a chef on cruises, seeks to surprise and delight with something extraordinary and unique every day, like gazpacho with almond puree or posole with a slice of lime and avocado. Her seafood specials, like ceviche or cioppino, are always fresh, made to perfection. Many offerings are unusual, influenced by Latin America or her travels and yet, completely and totally accessible to food lovers of any disposition. Their vegetarian specials are so light but satisfying that you feel virtuous and decadent at the same time, because you KNOW you can justify having one of Ed's desserts. Ed, the baker, dazzles you first with his artistry; his pastries are irresistable. You just look at them and you know they are to die for. And then you try any one of his magnificent creations and you know you've found heaven on earth. His bread pudding, made with croissants and white chocolate, drizzled with a compote of fresh berries, will make you forswear all other desserts - until the next day, when he produces his flourless chocolate pyramids, melt-in-your-mouth fruit tarts or his pecan rolls. I defy you to find a more perfect pecan roll. And then there's breakfast, which my group of colleagues decided one day to meet early before work to enjoy. It turns out that breakfast is Sabrina's favorite meal of the day. Need I say more? On top of it all, Sabrina, Ed and Crystal are the nicest, warmest people you are likely to meet in the restaurant business, who, it seems, are passionate about making people happy with their culinary gifts. Go to Cafe 56. It will change your life.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sevensinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“New addition to Middletown and maybe the best yet!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Cafe 56 is located at 102 Court Street in Middletown across the street from the Superior Court. It is a small restaurant and the latest in a long line of breakfast/lunch places. None of the prior businesses have been long lived or particularly interesting; Cafe 56 is a major exception. The food is outstanding! Everything is fresh and local; prepared with skill and finessse. The baked goods are "to die for". Made each day, they are all--at least the 15 or so that I have sampled--delicate, delicious and delightful.

Cafe 56 has only been opened for about a month, but I believe it will very quickly be seen as the best restaurant in Middletown and that is not an easy crown to achieve.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mainelovers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 56 also viewed

 
Middletown, CT
Middletown, CT
 

Been to Cafe 56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing