We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Hidden Gem!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middletown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Middletown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here during a 2-day Manager's meeting.

This is beautiful and elegant hotel. The staff was great and professional.

The food was excellent...especially the desserts.

Will definitely recommend this place!!!

Only negative is the parking...if you don't do valet parking...you'll have to park a block or two from the hotel....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r980jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn at Middletown. Calling us a hidden gem is quite a compliment and I will make sure I share your comments with my entire team. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    84
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
100
38
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while in town for a wedding, and it was one of the best hotel stays we have ever had. The room was wonderful and the staff was excellent. We were amazed at how polite, respectful, helpful and genuinely friendly the entire staff was. Having never stayed before, when the front desk clerk asked which room we wanted, we told him to choose, and he gave us a room on the front of the inn, overlooking a beautiful park across Main Street. The view was amazing! We would highly recommend this place, and plan to go back and stay again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about my staff in regards to your stay at the Inn at Middletown. We are all about service and I am so happy that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved this Inn. We stayed here during a snowstorm and it was just beautiful. It is small and charming, but has all the amenities of a large hotel. The staff is quite friendly and the entire hotel is remarkably clean. The food at the Tavern was incredible (Lobster 3 Cheese BLT Panini... To die for!) And reasonably priced for what you get. The flat screen TV had a strong signal that wasn't fuzzy, and it was satellite, so that was a bonus. The beds were very comfortable and there were several pillows of varying firmness.

I only have 2 minor complaints... First is parking. There is valet parking and meter parking. But if you want free parking, be prepared to hike down the street and park behind a shopping center. It was pretty inconvenient when we got 10 inches of snow. The second is the heating unit in the room... It's either on or off. You choose a high/med/low heat and turn the fan on, no thermostat to keep the same temp set. That gets annoying when it gets cold at night. Good thing the beds had very nice comforters and extra blankets available.

Other than those two minor issues, we had a very pleasurable stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcktgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Inn at Middletown. I am glad we made your stay an enjoyable one concidering all the snow that we unexpectedly recieved. I will share your comments with my team regarding the HVAC and look at ways we may possibly improve that in the near future. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you're coming to Middletown, you should stay here.

It's not "fancy." Nor is it a sweet little hideaway, or eclectic, or clever, or once-in-a-lifetime unique. Nope. It's simply the right hotel for this charming community.

It's a "handsome," well-appointed and up-to-date small town hotel, with a few extra intangible touches that constant travelers like myself really appreciate.

We were very comfortable.

The employees are friendly. The rooms are clean. The bar is cozy. The food is good. The rates are competitive. And it's situated right where you want to be.

Honestly, if you're coming to a quaint town, why stay in a chain hotel off the highway? Stay at the Inn at Middletown and make your way over to O'Rourke's Diner (probably the best breakfast I've ever encountered) a little ways down Main Street.

THEN, you can head up to Wesleyan and see how well your kid likes college...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fly_With_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Inn at Middletown during your recent stay in the area. I was very pleased to read how we met and exceeded your expectations in so many ways. Happy New Year from all of us at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We traveled to Middletown to celebrate my Aunt and Uncle's "70th", yes that was 70 wedding anniversary. We could not have had a nicer, more comfortable stay. Your staff was more than helpful and so accommodating. We will definitely stay in the Middletown Inn when we visit Family again.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor to enjoy the view of the quaint city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccapp1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Inn at Middletown. We are so glad to hear that not only you but your entire family enjoyed their stay with us. We have revieved a number of great comments regarding the party and the overall weekend from your family. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff at check in were extremely friendly and helpful- the lobby was cozy with a fireplace and free cookies. The room was large and comfortable. The pool was a bit small if you want to swim laps, but the hot tub was bigger than normal. The only real downside here was that parking is far away, which is a pain with luggage. The wifi worked perfectly fine for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperPicnicWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to the Inn at Middletown. I am so glad you found the staff friendly and accomodating. Next time you visit us and want to self park drop your luggage off with us and we will have it in your room by the time you return to the Inn. We also have a 24 hour valet service if you so desire. The walk is well worth it. Thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and was promptly greeted by Valet who explained the parking situation. Then was welcomed by Olga when I approached the front desk. She was beyond kind and explained all of the hotel amenities. The rooms were very nice. Bathrooms could maybe use a bit of an update but other than that it was perfect and the mattresses were fantastic!! Breakfast the next morning in the Tavern was delicious and I will absolutely return! Also check out Eli Cannons Tap Room and NoRa's bakery nearby, within walking distance of hotel and fantastic end to an evening.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipFloppinLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments regarding the staff and your overall stay at the Inn at Middletown. Guest service is our overall priority and we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We are constantly making improvements to the property and in early 2013 will be enhancing the bathrooms. Thank you once again for choosing the Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
2.5 mi away
Passport Inn & Suites Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Cromwell
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
20.0 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middletown

Property: Inn at Middletown
Address: 70 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-3407
Location: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Middletown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middletown Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing