We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend stay!”
Review of Inn at Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middletown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while in town for a wedding, and it was one of the best hotel stays we have ever had. The room was wonderful and the staff was excellent. We were amazed at how polite, respectful, helpful and genuinely friendly the entire staff was. Having never stayed before, when the front desk clerk asked which room we wanted, we told him to choose, and he gave us a room on the front of the inn, overlooking a beautiful park across Main Street. The view was amazing! We would highly recommend this place, and plan to go back and stay again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about my staff in regards to your stay at the Inn at Middletown. We are all about service and I am so happy that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Middletown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 322 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved this Inn. We stayed here during a snowstorm and it was just beautiful. It is small and charming, but has all the amenities of a large hotel. The staff is quite friendly and the entire hotel is remarkably clean. The food at the Tavern was incredible (Lobster 3 Cheese BLT Panini... To die for!) And reasonably priced for what you get. The flat screen TV had a strong signal that wasn't fuzzy, and it was satellite, so that was a bonus. The beds were very comfortable and there were several pillows of varying firmness.

I only have 2 minor complaints... First is parking. There is valet parking and meter parking. But if you want free parking, be prepared to hike down the street and park behind a shopping center. It was pretty inconvenient when we got 10 inches of snow. The second is the heating unit in the room... It's either on or off. You choose a high/med/low heat and turn the fan on, no thermostat to keep the same temp set. That gets annoying when it gets cold at night. Good thing the beds had very nice comforters and extra blankets available.

Other than those two minor issues, we had a very pleasurable stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcktgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Inn at Middletown. I am glad we made your stay an enjoyable one concidering all the snow that we unexpectedly recieved. I will share your comments with my team regarding the HVAC and look at ways we may possibly improve that in the near future. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you're coming to Middletown, you should stay here.

It's not "fancy." Nor is it a sweet little hideaway, or eclectic, or clever, or once-in-a-lifetime unique. Nope. It's simply the right hotel for this charming community.

It's a "handsome," well-appointed and up-to-date small town hotel, with a few extra intangible touches that constant travelers like myself really appreciate.

We were very comfortable.

The employees are friendly. The rooms are clean. The bar is cozy. The food is good. The rates are competitive. And it's situated right where you want to be.

Honestly, if you're coming to a quaint town, why stay in a chain hotel off the highway? Stay at the Inn at Middletown and make your way over to O'Rourke's Diner (probably the best breakfast I've ever encountered) a little ways down Main Street.

THEN, you can head up to Wesleyan and see how well your kid likes college...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fly_With_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Inn at Middletown during your recent stay in the area. I was very pleased to read how we met and exceeded your expectations in so many ways. Happy New Year from all of us at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We traveled to Middletown to celebrate my Aunt and Uncle's "70th", yes that was 70 wedding anniversary. We could not have had a nicer, more comfortable stay. Your staff was more than helpful and so accommodating. We will definitely stay in the Middletown Inn when we visit Family again.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor to enjoy the view of the quaint city.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccapp1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Inn at Middletown. We are so glad to hear that not only you but your entire family enjoyed their stay with us. We have revieved a number of great comments regarding the party and the overall weekend from your family. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff at check in were extremely friendly and helpful- the lobby was cozy with a fireplace and free cookies. The room was large and comfortable. The pool was a bit small if you want to swim laps, but the hot tub was bigger than normal. The only real downside here was that parking is far away, which is a pain with luggage. The wifi worked perfectly fine for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperPicnicWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to the Inn at Middletown. I am so glad you found the staff friendly and accomodating. Next time you visit us and want to self park drop your luggage off with us and we will have it in your room by the time you return to the Inn. We also have a 24 hour valet service if you so desire. The walk is well worth it. Thank you again for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Arrived at the hotel and was promptly greeted by Valet who explained the parking situation. Then was welcomed by Olga when I approached the front desk. She was beyond kind and explained all of the hotel amenities. The rooms were very nice. Bathrooms could maybe use a bit of an update but other than that it was perfect and the mattresses were fantastic!! Breakfast the next morning in the Tavern was delicious and I will absolutely return! Also check out Eli Cannons Tap Room and NoRa's bakery nearby, within walking distance of hotel and fantastic end to an evening.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FlipFloppinLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice comments regarding the staff and your overall stay at the Inn at Middletown. Guest service is our overall priority and we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We are constantly making improvements to the property and in early 2013 will be enhancing the bathrooms. Thank you once again for choosing the Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

To get the negative out of the way: the music! I would just remove the alternative rock music that is playing in the entrance and in the tavern. At least I would change it to something that matches the decor thematically, like classical music.
OK: the rest is wonderful. The location is absolutely perfect, on the beautiful main street, close to lots of restaurants. The decor is very nice on the outside and on the inside it's not particularly unique, but it's tasteful and pleasant. Immaculately clean. Very comfy beds. Oh, and a special shout out to the repairman. Something broke in the bathroom, so I called the front desk and within 5 minutes, a very nice repairman showed up and fixed the problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at the Inn at Middletown. I am happy that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We usually have a more "Low Key" music selection in the courtyard and I agree softer is more suitable for our setting. I will make sure I share your comments regarding engineering to my team as they at times do not get the proper recognition for the job they do. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
4.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
465 reviews
24.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
737 reviews
2.5 mi away
Passport Inn & Suites Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Cromwell
82 reviews
19.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middletown

Address: 70 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-3407
Location: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $198 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Middletown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middletown Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing