We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
Review of Inn at Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Middletown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Friendly staff, clean room, neat little pub and Resturant. Stayed there for a family wedding. Only there one night, but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbenci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay at the Inn at Middletown. Our hotel is a perfect location as you saw to host large wedding parties. Our hopes are that the next time you are in the area you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    93
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
114
47
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Inn and found it a very positive experience. Location is great, easy to find and staff were very good to us. The pool was nice and they have an exercise room that lacked free weights but was quite clean and the equipment worked (I rarely am able to say the equipment works at most hotel exercise rooms). Parking might be difficult but we had handicapped parking and were able to park for free across the street. They also gave a good rate for the block of rooms so we thought the price was reasonable too. Room and bathroom were very clean.
The only downside was that the room curtains were sheers and the sun at 6:30a.m. was pretty bright.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonsWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Inn at Middletown. I really appreciate your feedback regarding the equipment in the gym and we will definitely look at purchasing some free weights in the near future. I am sorry but for some reason you were not told about our complimentary valet for any disabled guests. I am very pleased to hear that overall you had a great time while you were with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here through the July 4th holiday week. It's a great place. Clean and friendly. Very enjoyable. There is a restaurant and bar with access to the hotel and it was awesome. The staff is friendly. You are right on Main Street and able to walk to the stores and shops with a park across the street. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting close by. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the view to Main Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for all of the kind words regarding your stay with us over the recent 4th of July weekend. One of our biggest selling points is our great location and that we are within walking distance to not only the university but a number of shops and restaurants. Just park your car and let your feet do the walking. Thanks again so much and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter while visiting Wesleyan, and think that for the price it was just ok... The room was comfortable and clean, but the rate did not include a breakfast, and so I question whether we should have stayed a bit down the road and saved a few bucks. The best thing about the hotel is the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Inn at Middletown during your recent visit. You are correct in your comments regarding our location as we are only two blocks from the university. On your next visit to the area please ask one of my front desk staff about other booking options. We do offer breakfast in some of our other packages and would love to have you try out some of our chef's specialties in our restaurant and tavern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent one night here, not expecting it to be too much. It suprised us in some ways. The desk staff was very friendly and welcoming, same for the wait staff in the restaurant. The whole place looks a bit dated though, breathing a 90s renovation w/ too much blond wood. Room was good size and clean, just a bit bland and commercial. It just doesn't have the charm you'd expect in an older building (and one named "Inn"); on the inside it's largely just like any chain hotel. That said, the staff made up for it, and a special mention to the cook, who prepared a very good dinner, but most of all an amazing dessert that ranks high on my 'best ever' list of chocolate desserts. Didn't expect that in an average looking place like that. All in, a recommended place for its price level.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Inn at Middletown during your visit to Wesleyan University. I love to share these comments with my entire team as they all work hard in the area of customer service. I will also make sure I let Ryan and Tom in the kitchen know about how pleased you were with your dining experience. We try hard to combine the charm of a new england Inn with some contemporary amenities and our hope it that everyone is pleased when they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very attractive and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Great location that was within walking distance to the college campus and restaurants. The front desk offered directions to free parking a few blocks away as an alternative to the (pricey) valet.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Inn at Middletown on your recent visit. Location is everything when it comes to our distance to the university as we are within walking distance, only two blocks away from Wesleyan. I am also glad to see that you were able to utilize one of our complimentary parking options during your stay. We look forward to being your home away from home the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great inn!!! Stayed for a golf weekend! Great clean hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spunky693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at The Inn at Middletown. I hope that your rounds of golf were as great as your stay with us. We have many courses in the surrounding area so so when you are ready to play another 36 holes in the area please think of staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
24.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
4.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Passport Inn & Suites Middletown
19.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middletown

Property: Inn at Middletown
Address: 70 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-3407
Location: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Middletown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middletown Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing