We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we lived closer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tibetan Kitchen

Tibetan Kitchen
Ranked #12 of 156 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: There was no Tibetan cuisine listed so I chose Nepali. Lunch hours: Mon - Sat : 11:30 am to 3 pm Dinner hours: Mon - Sat : 5:00 pm to 9 pm, Sunday: ClosedPhone# 860 - 343 - 3073
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wish we lived closer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Great food for the meat eater and the vegetarian, spicy and not spicy options. Place to tiny and quaint, but unless you can just roll out to Tibet it's hard to 'traditional" decorate, right? Service quick, helpful and friendly, food very very tasty! Would go back in a heartbeat- the twice cooked pork is divine!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having just visited New York, I didn't expect to find such a unique food experience in Middletown. But Tibetan Kitchen was certainly different, and although it was mostly empty, the food was delicious. It didn't taste like any other cuisine; it was distinctly its own. Many of the dishes come with Tibetan Bread (really good). I expected my dish with chicken and fresh vegetables to be simple, but it was spicy and intriguing. Very good find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teenfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced food on N Main St”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had heard that a new Tibetan restaurant had opened and were anxious to try it. It is a small storefront space with 7 or 8 tables. The service was friendly and prompt. The food was delicious. I started with the avocado salad, which was huge serving of potato salad with mashed avocado. My husband had soup with tofu, clear noodles and spinach. For entrees he had noodles and I had dumplings. Add in tea, iced chai, steamed bread and a rice pudding, all for just under $40. Perhaps a few kinks to work out --- one group left after a few minutes when no one greeted them right away -- but all minor stuff. I look forward to going back and trying other items. Lots of vegan options too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank connecticuttraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“New flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

It isn't like Thai or any other other Asian food I've ever had. So clean and fresh tasting. Very addicting, be careful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vamanos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Come for the food not the Decor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a great find. As soon as you walk in the sensuous aromas hit your nose and you know your in for a great meal. The staff is helpful even if their english is limited. The chef is the owner and comes out of the kitchen periodically to check on things. Nothing on the menu as far as I can remember is over 10.00. and even better it is a BYOB with a 5.00 charge. The only thing lacking is decor. I've eaten Tibetan on the lower east side and as soon as you walk in you feel like your there. The water, the statues. the music. We got the waiter to turn up the music but a little more decorating is in order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasquatch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Tibetan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing