We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hunters Lodge - FANTASTIC”
Review of Old Hunters Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whipsnade
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Hunters Lodge
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old Hunters Lodge - FANTASTIC”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great food, best Venison I have tasted in years.
service was amazing and friendly.
wife ordered lamb, it was a bit pink, whick is rthe way i think it should be, but, she was not going to eat it. I mentioned it to a waitress, they were appologetic, and took it away, bringing a fresh one, note: - not the same one put back for cooking, but a new one, and done to how she liked it.
Cannot praise the place and the staff enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Only eaten here, so can offer no comment on the hotel side.
Had quite a job getting a booking here, which boded well as it's clearly a popular venue. It was the run up to Christmas, so one would expect it to be busy, but it needed three dates being suggested before we managed to secure a table.
One of the friendliest places we've been. The owner (?) behind the bar was charming, and extremely friendly, all the staff delightful and helpful. The bar area is relaxed and very homely, with random stools, hard and soft seats, a sofa or two, a real fire, tables here and there. There's no obvious planning or style, but it works beautifully and one just feels instantly comfortable and at home. The real ales available were well kept.
Whether usual or not we can't say, but the dinning clientele that night were all towards the higher end of the age range. We are early 50s, and were the youngest eating by some way. Don't want to read too much in to this, as it may not be the norm, but I felt maybe the food reflected this customer base: if was fine, but generally too bland and unadventurous for our tastes.
My starter of battered chilli squid needed more punch and zip. Her brie stuffed mushrooms were good, and the portion most impressive. Had been looking forward to the the venison - the main reason had made such an effort to get a booking. The meat itself was of excellent quality, but needed a sterner and more forceful accompanying sauce. Mrs P was rather disappointed with her Chicken a la King: again, blandness was to the fore. Accompanying vegetable dishes were slightly too well cooked for our preference. The dessert was nice, the coffee good.
All in all: the staff are superb, and the place exudes a great welcome and atmosphere; we found the food a bit dull; price very reasonable though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11diner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We had a meal at the Old Hunters Lodge this week and were so impressed with the food and ambience. The staff are really friendly and customer care obviously is important to them. Little touches like asking if you would like some water brought to the table instead of asking for it. The food is excellent and I would return time and time again. The quality of food and service is outstanding here. I look forward to a return visit here and I would recommend it to anyone. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMD015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Yes I know this is reviewed as a hotel, but as we live locally we use it just to eat.
My wife uses a wheel chair & they could not have been more helpful

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An_English_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at the Old hunters Lodge after landing at Heathrow from Canada and on our way to Yorkshire. We found all the staff and the owners helpful and friendly . Our room although on the small side was more than adequate and quite comfortable . The room was clean and well cared for . The bathroom again was smallish , but just fine for us . We went to the pub downstairs for dinner and found everyone really helpful . The food was excellent and the choice of dishes was extensive. We probably had one of the smaller rooms , but really for an overnight stay this is just fine. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Fruit , eggs , bacon mushrooms , beans and much more with toast , tea and coffee. In general we would have no problem ever staying at this charming old inn and would recommend it to anyone .

Room Tip: We really could not see why there would be any difference in noise from the road anywhere in this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2oldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

A place where I would return time and time again. HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnreilly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed in this wonderful old hotel when going to a party nearby. We only stayed overnight but it was great. We opted for Room 7, this is £10 more expensve than a standard double room at £70 for B & B. Room 7 has a beautiful 4 poster bed and a very large bathroom en suite, this is perfect for a romantic getaway or as a base when visiting Whipsnade. As it is located on the doorstep of the Dunstable Downs it is also a perfect base to go walking in a beauiful part of England, less than an hour out of London. The staff at the hotel are exceptionally friendly and willing to help at all times. Breakfast is superb and is cooked fresh to order. We went out for a walk after breakast and arrived back at lunchtime so we stayed for lunch as well, again lunch is cooked to order so don't expect to hear the ping of a microwave. We really enjoyed this hotel and could not reccommend it enough. It is a jewel in the heart of England.

  • Liked — The food, the staff and the location
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry_Cobeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whipsnade
2.5 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
5.6 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
560 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 2 in Aldbury
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hunters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hunters Lodge

Property: Old Hunters Lodge
Address: The Cross Roads | near Whipsnade, Whipsnade, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Whipsnade
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Whipsnade
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing