We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plume of Feathers

Plume of Feathers
Reserve with OpenTable
Plume of Feathers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've been into the plume on several occasions and have never been disappointed. I have been meaning to write a review after each visit but as I just keep going back I thought it would be better to do an overview. Mitchell itself is a beautiful Cornish village just off the a30 and is packed with very pretty cottages and houses and a fruit farm where the plume get their strawberries from in the summer which go into to their amazing desserts!!
The pub in itself is a lovely bright and airy place with a gorgeous conservatory which is tastefully decorated. The staff are friendly and welcoming and immediately make you feel relaxed. The ever changing menu and specials are always imaginative and very very tasty. I always am amazed by the portion sizes and how good value it is! With 3 different areas to eat in you can have the conservatory which is light and airy, the dining room which is amazing in the winter next to the log fire or in the bar where you can meet the locals and look down into the old well!
I couldn't possibly rate this place any higher!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinyspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    79
    33
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chic Cornish hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The Plume of Feathers is a quaint 16th century coaching inn located just off the A30 at Mitchell. The establishment provides everything from overnight accommodation and quality food or just a refreshing drink in the very tastefully decorated bar area. There is ample parking provided and picnic benches outside if the weather is fine. The staff are all friendly and accommodating and the bar area also accepts dogs provided they are well behaved.
My wife and I have eaten here on a number of occasions and never been disappointed. The building is split into two separate areas. The original part of the building is where the bar is located plus ample seating should you decide to eat. Alternatively there is a modern large conservatory and this is classed as the main restaurant. The restaurant is very light and airy and the room itself has a very Mediterranean feel to it thanks to a rather lovely olive tree placed in the middle of the floor. The menu is very tempting with all of the ingredients used are sourced locally. Prices tend to be a little higher than your usual pub grub but the standard has been raised a little higher than your usual chicken and chips or scampi in a basket so for this reason you don't mind paying a bit more.
Just to finish. Sky television is available should there be an interesting sporting event on. There is also a bar billiards table and children are made to feel welcome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Always a warm welcome from Paul the Manager. Spotlessly clean. Good food at reasonable prices, combined with excellent service.

As we only live 8 miles away we have not had a need to book in to their accommodation, but based on the premises as a whole, and the comments above I imagine it wouild be first rate

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good menu and very reasonably priced. It get busy here so make sure you reserve a table for the restaurant. The bar area also has tables but you'll need to book these on busier times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twoscoops4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a real gem! May husband and I stay in many five star places but this place is a cut above. Incredible, friendly staff, immaculate rooms and facilities, gorgeous area and fabulous food. We cannot believe anyone in their right minds would find a single complaint here! Ignore all the negative reviews and try it for yourself. It is truly superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Fiona
Many , many thanks for your very kind review of The Plume of Feathers
It is good to see a review from people that truly appreciate all the effort and time that is put in by the team here at The Plume, I am so glad that we were in a position to upgrade you to one of our superior rooms upon arrival.
Thanks again to you both and we look forward to welcoming you to The Plume again in the future

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume of Feathers also viewed

Summercourt, Cornwall
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing