We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed ”
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plume of Feathers
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very impressed ”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Plume as a last minute decision today and we were so pleased we did. We had a warm welcome, great service throughout and an absolutely delicious roast dinner. We sat in the 'conservatory' which is lovely. Our 10 month old daughter was also accommodated by very helpful staff and we felt really comfortable as a family. We'll certainly be visiting again soon and recommending to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
68
93
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Travelling on business required an overnight halt close to the A30 and this Inn cannot be faulted in my experience. The rooms are furnished to a high standard, very clean, staff are very friendly and helpful, and the meal was great. Cannot fault, especially for the money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smokingcigars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very friendly environment, lovely room, happy to put up with our Houdini of a dog too! Paul and all his staff are very accommodating and great hosts. Highly recommend staying here or just visiting for the evening and a meal, well worth while

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfpw1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Finally got around to booking a table for a meal; have heard good reviews over the years. The restaurant staff didn't have our name on their table list, they eventually said 'oh, it could be that one' and then just pointed to a table in the pub, not the restaurant. Two of us had the Porchetta and one the fish cakes. There wasn't much fish in the fishcakes; the potatoes roasted in duck fat were hard, not crispy, had been cooked in their skins and had that twice cooked taste; the veg was hard. The dessert was poached pear in mulled wine with rippled cream and syrup; it was served cold on a bed of thick, gloopy cream like substance. We were quite shocked to find out that the owners also own Lewinnick Lodge in Newquay as the two are poles apart in quality and value for money. We've been going to Lewinnick for years and it never fails to please. We won't be going back to the Plume.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pucci37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Plume of Feathers, what a shame we, seemingly, failed to deliver on this occasion. Apologies for the apparent failings in food quality and service. So that I can look more deeply into the poor experience you have received would you be kind enough to email me privately letting me know when exactly you visited us ? we seldom get complaints or bad reviews and when we do I might it my business to investigate fully, hopefully avoiding such failings happening again in the future.
My email address is theplume@hospitalitycornwall.com.

I thank you in anticipation of your assistance

Regards

Paul Partridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a meal here organised by a family member. It would not been our choice of place to go. Its not a local village pub serving pub grub (always a crowd pleaser), its trying to be a gastro pub, and comes across as being very pretentious. Given this we were surprised when the barman served us a drink in a bottle as we asked for a straw with it (it didn't quite fit with the demeanour the place was trying to give). We booked a table for 12.30, with everyone arrived and seated by this time. We had preorder our meals due to the party size, but our starters did not come out until well after 1pm. By the time me& my husband left (around 3pm) the last of the desserts had just come out. These came out about 20minutes after the first lot of desserts. The restaurant wasn't even at capacity. Back to the main course. I had fish in a bag, which was very nice, but pricey for what it was. My husband was told when he preordered that there was roast lamb available, but when his came out it was a lamb& bean dish from the menu. He said the lamb was tasty, but the whole dish was really fatty& greasy. He couldn't finish it. He enjoyed his christmas pudding dessert though. The waitresses were polite& asked several times if we needed any drinks. However, as previously highlighted the food was really slow in being served. We have been to other pubs trying to do the same type of thing with restaurant type menus where the food has been the same or better choice/quality, but cheaper & with quicker service.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kernowrlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Good Evening and thanks for reviewing The Plume. I am sorry to hear your experience was a little disappointing and will, as always, investigate all the points that you raise. If you would be kind enough to email me I can then look into our apparent failings and hopefully ensure the same mistakes can not happen again.
I take all reviews very seriously and will of course, come back to you with my findings.

many thanks

Paul Partridge
Manager

theplume@hospitalitycornwall.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Where do I start! In 20 years of organising our staff Christmas 'do' I have never had so many colleagues commenting on the night and how good the food was. 33 of us were all served each course together and each course was as excellent as the next. The staff could not have been more helpful, accommodating even to a last minute change without quibble. Thank you Paul and the rest of the staff, wonderful time was had by all........ and of course not forgetting the DJ....top job! We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Boutique style hotel, rustic, comfortable and friendly. All modern amenities but minus the clinical brashness of some larger hotels. We visited for a wedding reception and that was extremely well managed, the food delicious and the staff really friendly, helping make it a very special event. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tranquila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell
6.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
857 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 19 in Truro
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Property: Plume of Feathers
Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter's day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Rich Humphries, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern influence. Rich and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells' own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing