We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, contemporary charm”
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plume of Feathers
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly, contemporary charm”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the larger rooms by the courtyard, the room was excellent spacious comfortable and very clean breakfast was included and there was a good selection to choose from, the staff were friendly, attentive and accommodating
We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel it is also in a good position for venturing to the different tourist attractions

We would absolutely return to this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrieAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
68
93
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Plume of Feathers for my Partner's Birthday and to attend their annual festival. Several of our friends booked at the same time. We all were made to feel very welcome, the room was great and attention to detail and cleanliness superb. We ate in their orangery restaurant the service and food was excellent too, great quality, reasonably priced and well presented.

Room Tip: Room 7 is particularly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and found the accommodation to be clean, comfortable and of a very good standard. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and the staff were very polite and helpful. If you want somewhere close to the offers of Newquay but with a quieter, village feel then this place is perfect. Our only negatives are that it is a little pricey to stay and the vegetarian choice in the evening is very small. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend. It was our first weekend away so i wanted it to be special. The place was easy to find and was about 6 mile out of Newquay. The accommodation was exceptional, the room which we stayed in was The Bootroom, it was to a very high standard and was just what we wanted. The breakfast was also include and it was stunning so don't miss out. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have eaten here for many years. This was my first stay. I have never met such quality of accommodation in a popular holiday area. Everything was pristine. I will stay here whenever I'm in the area.

To gladden the heart of any vegetarian they have a "Full Vegetarian" breakfast. Swell done.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkins_Bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a great find, just off the A30 in a quiet village which made it easy to access to all of Cornwall. The room we stayed in was the Stables which was very clean, modern and comfortable. The pub and restaurant was really nice and the food was excellent and great value for money. Breakfast was also very good. All in all, I would stay here again and would highly recommend the place to anyone visiting Cornwall.

Room Tip: Our room was £120 per night B&B, but cheaper rooms were on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoscoops4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the Plume of Feathers in Mitchell. We selected it because we felt we would have easy access to different parts of the Coastal Walk (we are hikers). It is just a couple of minutes off the A30 which is the main artery to the South. We needed a large room to unload our gear and the hotel was perfect for that. The restaurant food was good although the variety was not large(especially if you are a picky eater!). There is plenty of parking and the sit down breakfasts in the morning were excellent (I had Eggs Benedict most every day). The manager is very "hands on" and friendly. You had to drive a ways (Truro) for a market to get any supplies, but we just incorporated that into our daily trips. Although it was close to the A30, we never were bothered by traffic noise. Recommended...

Room Tip: The rooms in the "Hen House" (#'s 6 & 7) are very quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell
6.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 19 in Truro
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Property: Plume of Feathers
Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter's day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Rich Humphries, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern influence. Rich and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells' own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing