We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plume of Feathers
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We found this restaurant whilst staying at a nearby holiday cottage in St Newlyn East and enjoyed our meal so much that we returned again two days later. Food was lovely, all piping hot and freshly cooked. Staff were very attentive, however on our second trip it appeared that they were slighly under-staffed, although thankfully it was not too busy and therefore didn't affect the overall experience too much. I preferred sitting in the old part of the restaurant as I felt it had a more cosy feel, as opposed to the new part which was situated in a very large, modern conservatory area. Our daugher, a rather fussy eater, said the fish goujons were the best she had ever had. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
67
97
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We visited for lunch yesterday, on out way back from a long weekend in Cornwall to Bucks. This was a return visit, having had quite a good experience the first time. This time, the service was friendly but very slow, although the place was almost empty. We ordered the same dish - a special of the day. When the plates arrived - "whole plaice with roasted potatoes", the plaice were really small and the potatoes were seriously under-cooked. Paying the bill then turned out to be "challenging" as the waitress was too busy and there was no-one at the bar. It felt like the establishement was seriously under-staffed. The bill was expensive for what we had. I doubt we will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Couldn't have wished for a better place for to stay and explore the area. It over exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed one night at The Plume while attending a family wedding in the area. From the moment we arrived (unexpectedly early) we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. We were shown straight to a super room - clean, well appointed, roomy, very comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Over a cup of tea, Paul gave us clear directions to the wedding venue - thank goodness, as it was not easy to find!
Our meal upon our return that evening was excellent, chosen from a very varied and interesting menu, and so was the friendly and helpful service. The fish, especially, was delicious. After a very quiet and restful night's sleep, we had a very good breakfast, again from a varied menu, and departed. Our stay had been everything that we could have hoped for and was very good value for money so we would have no reservations whatsoever about returning or recommending The Plume of Feathers to anyone heading into the southwest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights as a base to visit our new grandchild. Everyone was so warm, welcoming and friendly. They could teach the unhelpful,surly welcome in a recent French ski hotel a lesson or two. Lovely large, warm bedroom complete with comfortable sofa.
Food very good, and they were more than accommodating when we changed the number of people eating with us both nights, even though the resturant was busy. Locally sourced food, Super breakfast. Will definitely revisit. Value for money

Room Tip: Stayed in the boot room, large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pochard21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed a the plume whilst celebrating a friends birthday.
The pub itself is wonderfully friendly and seems to be very family orientated with all generations catered for judging by it's clientele when we stayed.
Being in Cornwall I had to sample the locally caught fish of the day which was cooked very simply but tasted divine.
What made the dish even nicer was the fact that I requested a different sauce as an accompaniment instead of the one listed on the menu.
Paul, the manager was more than happy to ask the chef to rustle up hollandaise sauce for me which he duly did, in fact nothing seemed too much trouble!
The room we stayed in was a little small but it was comfortable and my only criticism was that the room was a little warm as it only had a tiny window which even when opened fully failed to ventilate the room adequately.
Thankfully the next evening was a little cooler so we slept a lot more comfortably.
Breakfast the next day was equally as tasty as the evening meal and it was service with a smile from our host, Paul.
The plume isn't a cheap place to stay at £100 plus per night but my experience there convinces me it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonfan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband made reservations at'The Plume' as a 70 something birthday treat and I couldn't have been more delighted.Room 7 in 'The Hen house' was warm, quiet and extremely comfortable. Both evening meals were delicious, reasonably priced and served by friendly and attentive young staff.
Paul, the manager was really helpful with suggestions as to how to spend our day and the breakfasts were delightful with a few out of the ordinary dishes to choose from.
It was good to see that the Plume is well used by local people both as a pub as well as a good place to eat.I am really surprised to read negative reviews on The Plume as it is without doubt a very special place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell
6.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
871 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
13.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Property: Plume of Feathers
Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter's day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Rich Humphries, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern influence. Rich and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells' own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing