We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminded be more of a boutique hotel than a B&B”
Review of Littlebeck Warren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Littlebeck Warren
Ranked #1 of 1 Distington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reminded be more of a boutique hotel than a B&B”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There were five of us staying at the start of our C2C bike ride.

The rooms were done to the highest specification. The bathroom in our room - the copper room - was lovely and i just had to have bath. The bed was large which was great for my 6'f" husband.

Breakfast was delicious.

A great place and definately would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Edison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
99
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First a big thank-you to Sue for helping me to plan a little surprise on arrival (Champagne & chocolates)... Definitely well received and shows how much the personal touch can make an already good experience great! We were warmly welcomed by Sue, given a tour of the property and how things worked (especially the bar... very important after a long day in the car).

Shown to our room (the stone room) which is a lovely place to be... Soft colours, very clean, like the whole place in fact... One word "welcoming"... The bathroom is something a bit special (as in all the rooms from the pictures I've seen) a big stone bath and a great walk-in shower.

To dinner, and met by Matthew the chef... (how many B&Bs do you know with their own chef?) who explained his menu (easy for him to do as he sources and prepares all the dishes locally so really knows what the score is) and a delightful meal in very pleasant surroundings with top notch service by the man himself... I couldn't fault my dinner and neither could the birthday girl... Great balance of flavours and just the right amount of everything on the plate (the sauce on the belly pork was terrific!).

We were tired and happy so chose a DVD form the cabinet and wandered off to bed for a much needed sleep. Didn't get very far through the film when tiredness overtook and we succumbed to the soft warm bed...

Woke early (and for some unfathomable reason hungry) so off to breakfast (full English of course)... Absolutely great, with a nice selection of fruit and cereals too, just in case you are really hungry... Beautifully presented and served with a smile by Sue and Simone.. Great way to start the day :-)

All good things come to an end and we reluctantly took our leave (clutching a goody bag of shortbread and sweeties for the road... just in case we hadn't eaten enough perhaps?)...

Can't recommend Littlebeck Warren too highly... Give it a go... Sue and the team have raised B&B to a new level!

Room Tip: All the rooms will be great but we loved the Stone Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Littlebeck Warren with 2 friends at the start of June and after reading the reviews from other guests had high expectations. I can honestly say that we were highly impressed by every aspect of our stay. Dinner prepared by the resident chef, Matthew, was fantastic and better than we have experienced in many expensive restaurants. Breakfast was fabulous with a huge range of options and provided in quantity too! Sue, Simone and Matthew all made us feel very much at home. They were attentive, friendly and nothing was too much bother. The house and the rooms are really lovely with a great deal of thought having been put in to the individual design of each room. Overall the experience was miles better than we would have had if we had stayed in a 5 star hotel. Having stayed at Littlebeck Warren I would not consider staying anywhere else in the area. Thanks to Sue and her team for a really enjoyable weekend in the Lake District.

Room Tip: Unique B&B - Every room different All lovely but the Porcelain Room really bowled us over
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Matt is a gifted local chef, Simone the perfect server (solicitous, friendly, there precisely when needed), and about Sue, the attentive and vivacious proprietress, one couldn't possibly say enough good things. These are truly wonderful people to be around.

The setting is cozy and spotlessly clean, an old home that Sue has meticulously renovated within the last year or so. Every square centimeter shows her careful touch, a flair for tasteful decorating and unexpected thoughtfulness about her guests' comfort. (To pick just one example - if your feet ache from walking the Lake District, how about slipping them into a pair of crispy-clean slippers, if you like, from the wicker basket by the front door?) Our room was quiet, private, airy, with a lovely view. Bathroom fixtures I'd like to find for my own home!

Delicious breakfast, truly spectacular dinner, and (the crowning touch) Sue wasn't above preparing a cup of my special tea just before bed.

If you can get a reservation - because the place is sure to be packed as word gets around - this is a lovely home base for traveling the northwestern Lake District. We're from Boston, hadn't been to the area before, and couldn't have been more delighted by what we found at Littlebeck Warren.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Porcelain Room. Gorgeous. (oops...just noticing that I inadvertently gave the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

What an amazing place, staff and atmosphere.
Thank you to Sue, Simone & Matt for such a great stay.
I had read the reviews before I went and went with high expectations (I know you shouldnt but I did). The were met completely. Sue is warm and very welcoming, you can see it is far more than just a business for her. Matt fantastic chef (very easy going & funny), food was amazing in a very relaxing unpretentious environment. Simone easy going and provided a quick service (wth a smile).

ROOM
Booked the wooden room, on ground floor. Great space, huge bed. Large wardrobe, desk, TV / DVD combi, ipod dock, tea coffee facilities. Fluffy towels. Spotless clean

BATHROOM
Wet room, huge wooden bath (with seat) water stays hot for a long time. Shower on wall. Sink gorgeous. Spotless Clean

FOOD
Breakfast - cooked to order, specials on board (order the night before), fresh, local sourced produce, cooked really well. Fresh pastries, fruit, yogurt & cerals, fresh orange juice, toast, and tea / coffee.
Evening Meal - Bargain at £20 each for 3 course meal. Excellent value for money. Matt was more than happy to adapt menu (my partner is a bit of a fussy - dont like this, dont like that - type) but he loved his meal, stating the pork was the best meal he had eaten. (Sue had kindly sent the menu via email during the booking process - though didnt need to book in advance.

B & B
Decor is full of great colours, texture and fixtures. It is a place to be enjoyed and interactive with rather than sit back and dont touch. We felt extremely relaxed the whole time we were there. We were there when the place was fully booked yet didnt see other guests other than at meal times.

Conference Room
There was a conference room available (we were able to use if required as it was not booked for use during our stay) & that room had a great big table / chairs available.

Bar
a bar (small but perfectly formed) - as mentioned before trust bar. If nobody around to serve, help yourself. Easy going system that works well for us (we are a "get on with it" type of people) leather sofa & bar stools available for seating in there.

Dining Room
Dining room, 5 tables of 2, intimate setting.

Sun Lounge
Conservative / Sun Lounge, 2 very comfy sofas, coffee table, table & 2 chairs, plus loads of books, dvds, info on the area / things to do and games. We spent the evening in there with drinks, great relaxing place.

Balcony
Great little area (not used by us due to weather, would be amazing in summer).

Extras - booklet in room explaining everything, Sue is happy to take payment that is easiest for you (cash or card) pay on leaving, little good bag on leaving - we had to leave before breakfast on the 2nd morning and was provided with pastries & water. Slippers - in a box by front door. Umberellas - In stand by front door.

Keep up the good work guys - its a fantastic place that offers a little bit of luxury but with a homely / relaxing feel - you have got right what so many other places have got wrong !! Well Done

Room Tip: The only room without a bath is the glass room. Wooden room on ground floor to the back of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayprincess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We would highly recommend this as a clean, beautifully decorated place to stay with chef prepared food, cooked the way you like it.

We were not sure what to expect as Distington is outside of the usual Lake District travellers circuit. However, it was close to St. Bees Head for an early start on the Coast to Coast walk the following morning. After our one-night there, we wish we had booked for a longer stay as it was a delightful surprise and we have recommended it to many of our friends. The bed was super comfortable and the whole place was clean and beautifully decorated in a modern, co-ordinated theme.

As for the food .... what can we say except that it was perfect! A good choice of chef-prepared daily specials for dinner at a very reasonable price and a good breakfast menu with plenty of choice other than the usual bacon and eggs. We ordered one packed lunch and there was enough food for at least two people and all at a VERY reasonable price.

You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganddoutoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about our stay here was lovely. Me and my boyfriend stayed for one night inbetween travelling the lake district. We stayed in the Copper room and it was lush, decorated in such a cosey and homely way, the bath way amazing, perfect to relax after a long day walking. We had dinner there and after speaking to the very lovely owner Sue before we went she got a chef in specially (usually no chef on a Sunday) The food was amazing, perfect portions, very tasty and served beautifully. Afterwards we relaxed in the conservatory which again was so comfy we could of stayed there all night. We had a lovely nights sleep in the big, well presented bed and didn't want to leave. On leaving however we received a lovely goody bag with bottles of water and sweets for our journey home which was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend and go back again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funksoulsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Distington
2.7 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
9.1 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
142 reviews
16.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
14.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Littlebeck Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littlebeck Warren

Property: Littlebeck Warren
Address: Hayescastle Road | Common End, Distington, Distington CA14 5YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Distington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Distington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Littlebeck Warren 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Contemporary, Character Accommodation with extraordinary en-suites in a beautifully renovated, licenced guesthouse in the Western Lake District.Exceptional customer service and exacting standards make for a totally relaxing break whether for business or pleasure. Accomodation includes lovely dining room, sun lounge, bar, balcony,original features,gardens, stream and woodland with lots of birds and wildlife including red squirrels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Littlebeck Warren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing