We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Prospect Cottage

View from the Parish Church
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Parish Church
Cottage ground Floor Cottage Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View from the Parish Church
Cottage ground Floor
Cottage Exterior
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen Area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
En-suite
En-suite
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Bathroom
Church from the Square
Bell Inn from the Square
View from Ground Floor Window
High Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chittlehampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Spur of the moment booking, but what an absolute gem of a find!
On arrival we found the little village of Chittlehampton to be very picturesque, the perfect position for a nice relaxing break.
Now on to the cottage.......... the most perfect little place to stay, from the perfect proportions of the kitchen, dining area and living space to the quality of the furniture and to have everything you'd need on a self catering holiday, a nice touch was the welcome pack so you can have a nice cup of tea, some cereals and jam, marmalade, marmite along with a small loaf.
The local pub (The Bell Inn) was literally less than 50 yards, great place to eat but you have to book! Although that said the landlady was more than accommodating on the two occasions we did eat there.
We really can't say enough good things about this property, it is quality through and through.
We would definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S
1 review
“Prospect Cottage Chittlehamton”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very beautiful cottage, in a lovely village.
The cottage was very clean and the decorations was immaculate.
Would highly recommend staying there.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spurgeonl...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Top quality cottage”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is situated around a quiet village square, with a church and a popular pub serving good traditional food. The cottage is spotlessly clean with excellent utensils, furnishings and comfie beds. There was a fresh loaf of bread, milk, jams, teabags and cereals on arrival. We stayed in and cooked the first night and there wasn't anything missing that you would possibly need, extremely well thought out. They even had a Lakeland ice cream scoop! We had lots of great days out, we wanted to be quite central in North Devon as we wanted to venture around. Everywhere seemed to be approximately half an hour drive away. Clovelly was quaint, Woolacombe was great for surfing, Baggy point was a lovely cliff walk, Lynton and Lynmouth (linked together with a cliff railway) is well worth a visit also Watersmeet National Trust for cream tea (it has a charming babbling brook running through) Ilfracombe harbour (book early if you want a boat trip to Lundy Island) tunnel beaches built by the Victorians are very delightful, and if you're feeling active take your bike and do the Tarkka Trail (disused railway line) Best pub meal was The Jack Russell at Swimbridge, excellent service, choice of menu and huge portions. A great holiday.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevepX13...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming comfortable well appointed cottage.”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Good communications with the owner as we had to alter our dates.
The cottage was clean and tidy and well furnished and appointed with everything needed for an enjoyable stay.
The village is also charming with a pub on the square which did delicious meals, however we recommend booking your table as we were disappointed on a couple of evenings.
We would recommend this cottage to our friends and family.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location and very smart cottage”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely location on village square next to the Church. Village very nice with shop for supplies and pub.
Cottage was very modern looking, comfortable and stylish.
The only problem we had was that the oven was overheating and although we reported it near the beginning of the week, it was not resolved by the end of our stay which is not very good for self catering accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolejoh...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage in Chittlehampton is the most perfect base for visiting the many places of interest in North Devon. The Bell pub is just yards away and well worth a visit, with good food and friendly staff . The cottage is very clean,well equipped and really comfortable. This was our third stay and we enjoyed every minute as always. I can recommend staying here to anyone who needs a getaway from the stress and strain of everyday life , a great place to recharge the batteries.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

First class location, very nice village,and pub really enjoyed a very relaxing break,felt really at home as soon as we walked through the door would definitely recommend to friends and family

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing