We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thunder and Lightning”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thunder and Lightning”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went to the Bell for lunch recently and had a different but very enjoyable experience.

We were a party of 4 for lunch on a Saturday, my 91 year old Grandma was with us who has trouble walking very far. From the moment we entered the Pub we were made very welcome and Rachel the bar maid couldn't do enough for us, especially ensuring Grandma was comfortable and happy.

During our meal which was served very quickly there was a massive thunder storm and torrential rain which flooded the front and ended in a power cut!!

Rachel and the other staff did extremely well catering for customers needs despite the lack of power. There were a lot of sandwiches being brought out!

The food was excellent and very reasonably priced.

We will defiantly be returning, hopefully the weather will be better behaved next time!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bananabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    38
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent the weekend at The Bell Inn the room was clean, decorated to a high standard and comfortable, staff at the Bell Inn are warm welcoming and very friendly.
They provided a fantastic cooked vegetarian breakfast for us and Chittlehampton is a lovely little village steeped in history the church is beautiful and the village folk are incredibly friendly.

We had a lovely weekend here and should not be missed as a great village pub full on a Friday and Saturday night with local folk a testament to their success, well done The Bell Inn

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank explorerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOLIHULL
1 review
“Very welcoming and great food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We own a high quality thatched holiday cottage in Chittlehampton which attracts guests who have high standards and expect many good things from a village pub. Without fail, our guests write glowing reports in our Guest Book about the Bell Inn--principally about the very warm welcome they receive from the owners Mark and Lynn, how their drinks are remembered next time they go in, how good the food is and such a great variety of choice, how friendly the locals are and how good the atmosphere always is. Local people come from miles around to have an evening there--there is no better recommendation.
Lesley and David

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 320Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We first used The Bell in 2010.
We returned this month (September 2013) to the same warm and friendly welcome.
Food is always well prepared and in good quantity.
The venison steak was cooked precisely as we had requested and the Roganjosh curry was better than any Indian Restaurant in the area.
It is lovely to see a pub which is the absolute hub of a local community but is still welcoming to visitors.
We will definitely return to The Bell - very highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyC525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food and Service Excellent”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a visit to family in Devon, we all went out for an evening meal to the Bell inn at Chittlehampton, on the recommendation of my wife's brother-in-law who live 3 or 4 miles away from it. This is a lovely country pub with a great atmosphere and even better staff, very friendly, with a very good selection of food, beers/ciders and specials on the menu, the prices are very reasonable too, I paid £50 for dinner and drinks for the four of us, I think that's pretty good value. We shall certainly go there again on our next visit to Devon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_Anderson_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Filleigh, South Molton
North Molton, Devon
 
South Molton, Devon
South Molton, Devon
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing