We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you Love Roller Coasters or have Little Kids...”

Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family amusement park offers great rides, waterpark, beach, arcade, food, entertainment and games. Home of the award-winning Wooden Warrior roller coaster and new thrill rides Frantic and Reverse Time. Several new slides in the waterpark.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

it's worth a stop. The kids can spend all day at the water park. We did not, only stopped in to ride the new-ish wooden roller coaster. Don't let the size fool you, this ride packs a punch and kicks butt! The seats are roomy and comfortable for a wooden coaster, they are a newer design. The miniature train ride is pleasant enough. The reason for not rating it higher:
-the park is tiny, if you don't do the water park
-the "common rides" outnumber the unique rides (coaster and train)
-$6 to park? Ugh.... come on.
BUT------- for coaster lovers, this is an awesome, different ride---- worth a stop if you are nearby.

2  Thank classicdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkgoer, Public Relations Manager at Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate the comments, especially about our award-winning Wooden Warrior coaster, which was the first in the nation to run the state-of-the-art Timberliner trains. We hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We regularly go to Six Flags:NE but needed a change of pace one weekend and checked out lake Quassy Amusement Park. Saturday after 5 til close carload price can't be beat. It was $35 for the group of us for unlimited rides and access to the waterpark. The waterpark shuts down at 7pm, something we didnt know when we arrived. There isn't anything obvious that indicated this until you walk to the beach entrance. We decided to get our rides in for a bit and then do the water area but it was too late... Although the waterpark did look fun and while it was operational, most rides were walk ons. Needless to say, we were able to fit in alot of riding.

There's several kiddy rides and a mix of family classics like a train ride, bumper cars, and a lovely grand carousel. We were more interested in the mid - to - thrill rides. Lots of classic flats on hand that look vibrant, fresh and well taken care of. There's a Tilt-a-whirl, a medium teacup ride, a moderate sized drop tower, a trabant, paratrooper ride, and a pirate ship. The YoYo swings were disappointing because the weight limit was 170lbs and hubby and I are both slightly over that and the kids didnt want to ride alone. This was a let down because we all enjoy the Crime Wave (wave swinger) at Six Flags:NE.

The Music Express is of special note with its custom carny paint job. The inside is done in a mix of 70s rock musicians such as Jimi Hendrix and the Grateful Dead. The exterior is painted in late 70s high fantasy with nightmare horses and barbarian women and polar bears. It's fascinating and unique. The ride is enabled to do the reverse program which makes it even more fun. However the music played was typical current radio pop hits, a disappointment when compared to the paint job. The ride itself is fine however, but would have enjoyed more suitable music but I guess the kids liked the Katy Perry and such being pumped out.

The best ride in the park is without a doubt it's crown jewel, a compact custom wooden rollercoaster called Wooden Warrior. It's a quick ride, and the main drop is not even 50 feet, but it is quite a thrilling little coaster that we rode many times and couldn't get enough of. Lots of great air time moments and the plunge into the dark tunnel is genius. Ride it in the front for the best experience. Also of note are the trains on it... Very safe and comfortable restraints. Love it, and would visit the park again just for the coaster.

The waterpark was certainly popular with the new splash pad and slides. We didnt get to explore it but hope to next time. Food is expensive, outrageously so, but I saw people who brought their own picnics so I guess bringing your own isn't frowned upon. The laser maze is new, but requires an extra charge. Also disappointing was the arcade which is built around ticket/prize games instead of actual video arcade games. I would love to have seen less ticket quarter munchers and more games that offer a gaming experience, but most arcades are going towards the Chuck E Cheese prize redemption model these days..

Overall Lake Quassy is definitely worth a day trip. We easily filled 5 hours with rides, but would like to see more flats even so. An old school spider/octopus or Eli Scrambler would go a long way. The visuals are beautiful. As it's built right next to the water... We will be returning again.

4  Thank Kittycatgirl2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkgoer, General Manager at Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for posting the review. We greatly appreciate the comments and input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to Quassy Amusement and Water Park in June. We took a whole day pass of approx $25 each. All the rides were covered in this pass, you can repeat the rides if you like.

We spent the whole day in Quassy and was never bored.

It does not have many rides however whatever rides are there are good enough. It also has a beach, ferry ride, Paddle Boating.

I avoided the Game parlour as my daughter would have never come out of that. Didnt let her see that ;)

The rides in the water park are less however they were nice. You can enjoy the cold water.

Overall, worth the expense. It was worth it.

1  Thank 643poojag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkgoer, Public Relations Manager at Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your park experience. We're glad you had an enjoyable day and hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My six year old daughter and I are season pass holders. We visit several times a week. The staff is super friendly. My daughter loves the water Park. And we both are loving the new lazer maze in the arcade.

1  Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkgoer, Public Relations Manager at Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding operations at the park. We certainly hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I loved the experience and it would have gotten a perfect score if it wasn't for the money trap.If you take you're child on the pirate ship it exits into the arcade. I'm sorry but that is a money trap because all kids are going to want to play. I would gladly have gone into the arcade but don't want to be forced to. Other than that, Hunter is 4 and he loved it. He was able to go down some of the slides by himself, good for him and me as I am a grandma raising him lol. Oh one other thing that if anyone likes relish on your hamburgers, bring you're own because they don't have it. Food is pricey but I expected that. It was $20 for a hot dog, hamburger and a soda.

2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkgoer, Public Relations Manager at Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate you kind words and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Quassy Amusement Park & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing